We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but some rooms can suffer from traffic noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A good hotel but some rooms can suffer from traffic noise”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We found that the Westminster was a very clean and comfortable hotel and we only had one niggle. We were allocated a room (209 I think) at the front of the hotel which over looked Mansfield road. As light sleepers we found that the traffic noise disturbed us all night. The room was excellent as was the buffet breakfast. A good hotel near the city but traffic noise can be a problem if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front over look a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel.!
We have a great location being just less than a mile from the city centre and therefore in a pretty central location but with the added bonus of lots of free car parking that city centre hotels can't offer. However as you mentioned this means that there is some noise from traffic passing outside the hotel. We do have plenty of rooms on the back of the hotel which you will find quieter so please feel free to request one of these rooms next time you stay with us.
If there is anything else I can help with then please do just get in touch.
Kind Regards
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    271
    153
    45
    34
See reviews for
86
251
56
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Good hotel only a few bus stops away from nottingham city centre, or about 15 minutes walk.
modern and clean, nice quality rooms, good breakfast and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honest011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Another good review about our hotel - sincere thanks for taking the time to write this.
Do get in touch if there is anything that we can help with now or in the future.
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Room at front of hotel on main road ...bit noisy at night constant traffic flow, however large room king size bed good size bathroom. Hotel is in a good location bus stop right outside, buses every few minutes into the centre,buy a group ticket(2 of us) on the bus £4 you can travel all day on the buses & trams! Ideal location for the Goose Fair.. just around the corner.Hotel very clean,staff friendly & helpful, breakfast superb! Excellent value for money. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your review! Great to hear that you enjoyed the whole experience when you stayed with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here after a wedding, we got an online rate of £63 inc full breakfast for a huge king size room for the two of us. The room was massive and the bed was super king size and very comfy. Although it was a bit dated, (think swirly carpets, sage green bathroom suite and fringed lamp shades) it was clean and the room was very well equipped with iron/ironing board, seating area with lounge chairs and a steam room shower cubicle. The staff were very obliging and the breakfast was very tasty. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snaptravel-767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hi,
Many thanks for your review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have a sneaky suspicion that we have some of the largest hotel rooms in Nottingham, as you discovered!
Just to let you know that by the beginning of next year nearly all of those rooms will be completely refurbished so I hope that you will come back and see our lovely new modern rooms then!
Kind Regards
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I was disappointed in this property. While the weather for October was unseasonably warm, there was no air conditioning in our room (or any of our family member's rooms) and the windows only opened a couple of inches. We were very uncomfortable during the two nights we stayed here. I also found our room very small and awkwardly laid out.

The staff was good, and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alligood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review some of your experiences at our hotel during a recent stay.
Due to health and safety reasons all the windows in the hotel only open a few inches - this is common amongst most hotels.
Our standard bedrooms do not have air conditioning however our King and Executive bedrooms do; for a small supplement you can upgrade to these rooms. Please bear this in mind if you return to our hotel in the future, which we sincerely hope that you do.
Other than this I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay at our friendly hotel and please get in touch if there is anything else that I can help with.
Kind Regards
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here for one night. It was fine apart from the boiling hot room. It was like a sauna and had no air conditioning and a window that only opened a little way. This was in September! Everything else was OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that you found the heat in your bedroom to be too much. Our king and Executive bedrooms all have air conditioning but unfortunately our standard bedrooms do not.
Do get in touch should there be anything else that we can help with.
Kind Regards
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Excellent room, the food - breakfast and dinner - very good. But the outstanding quality was the incredible friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, from the management, the reception desk staff, housekeeping, and restaurant staff. Thanks Maureen, Kerry, and crew - loved the three nights there :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troutstalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminsterhotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
This is my favourite type of review.........where one of our guests have had a great all round experience! Thanks for taking the time to write this review - we would love to welcome you back to the hotel and I have passed on your comments to all the team here at The Best Western Westminster Hotel.
Kind Regards
Phil Rea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#14 of 49 in Nottingham
681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,307 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.3 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Address: 312 Mansfield Road, Nottingham NG5 2EF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 mile from Nottingham city centre, The Best Western Westminster Hotel offers both modern and traditional rooms. There is free on-site parking, free Wi-Fi and a free internet booth in reception.Beautifully converted from Victorian homes, each room is unique and features a flat-screen Freeview TV, free toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. The Carrington Bar and Restaurant prides it's self on home cooked food and is regarded as a favourite amongst locals and regular guests. 24 hour room service is available.We are linked with a local gym, swimming pool and golf courses. Health and beauty treatments are available on site at hotel every day, including massages and manicures.Nottingham Rail Station is an 5 minute drive away. Trent FM Arena and Nottingham’s main shopping areas are within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western
Best Western Westminster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing