We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fish and Chips”

George's Tradition - Chilwell
Ranked #496 of 1,403 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This "Restaurant" is located on a busy retail park and is really a Chip Shop with a few seats. The standard of food served is really good and there is a good choice of products including fixed meals and various specials.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesTradition01, Marketing Manager at George's Tradition - Chilwell, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comment Charles! I hope you continue to enjoy your visits :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Freshly cooked fish & chips at their very best packed in boxes & brown paper bags. Friendly efficient staff & open every day! Afraid you may have to join a queue but doesn't that tell you something.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireBelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesTradition01, Marketing Manager at George's Tradition - Chilwell, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for showing your love for our fish and chips at Chilwell. We are constantly working hard to make our customers wait as short as possible, without losing our friendly service.

I hope you continue to enjoy visiting our Chilwell takeaway.

Thanks,

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best local so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Found this branch yesterday (Sunday) when my husband had a hankering for fish and chips but all our immediate fish bars were closed - good to finally find one that's open all week! It looked clean and tidy and the food packaging was good - the little boxes and brown paper bags are so different to the usual chip paper you get everywhere else. The chips were really tasty as was the fish, although I wouldn't have minded the batter being a bit crispier! One huge plus is that the cod was a decent size, almost as long as the box (which was fab as normally we have to order haddock to get fish that size) and inside was tender and flaky. Also I liked that this is a fish bar first and foremost (no burgers/kebabs/pizzas on the menu); it's a fish bar, and they do good fish.

The only negative was that we had to wait a little while to be served and although the member of staff saw us we weren't spoken to for some time - it was after a wait we finally got a hello and told it would be a moment longer while she continued to deal with the one customer before us. Our actual order came very quickly once we were able to place it, and everything was very competitively priced. Based on this first experience of a George's we think this might be our new favourite fish bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsWS-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
591 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Local chip shop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Cheap and good quality fish n chips. Staff well trained and efficient. Do good lunchtime deals. For value for money then you won't go wrong at George's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilB505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
690 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Often go to Georges in Chilwell as nearest fish & chip shop to us. Always great quality - from the chips, fish & sausages. Great value for money. Staff always very friendly. Do have to wait a while however well worth it!! Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Tradition - Chilwell also viewed

 

Been to George's Tradition - Chilwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing