We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 10 2019”
Review of Akbar Balti

Akbar Balti
Ranked #13 of 1,536 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely brilliant food and staff and a free drink for us both as it was my friend's birthday. Will be going again next time she visits me.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Navigate21378484410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent small restaurant. The waiter struggled a little to cope with out group of 16 men, but once the food was ready it all came out at once. Delicious starters and a huge range of main courses. Slightly high price at about £25 for 2 courses, but great for a special meal out.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank DavePuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Takeaway ordered and all of the meats were absolutely tasteless and full of colouring, absolutely no spice or seasoning added and was very very bland to the palette.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JayN1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

Amazing food and amazing service from amazing people. Could not fault a single thing from the warm welcome to the attentive service to the genuine sadness when it came time to leave.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

It all started on a hot day with my friend being asked to sit back in his chair so he could prop open the door on a rather hot night. A duty which he gladly engaged in. After 20 minutes our drinks order was taken after us trying to get the attention of the waiter several times, there were 8 of us but the maths of 5 pints, a bottle of Peroni and a bottle of wine to share seemed to cause some difficulty. I'd like to note there were only 4 other people in this night, I mean what kind of fool goes for curry in the equivalent of a British heatwave? Note the couple turning up after us, had finished their entire meal before we even got food. When we finally got to order our food, we were encouraged to only order starters, 16 items on one bill seemed a bit much but we were insistent we'd like to order both courses, familiar with usual restaurant service, you know, like EVERYWHERE, this seemed fairly normal. We asked for our orders to be read back (important for later) and all seemed good. So, one hour and 20 minutes after sitting down we eventually got our starters. Not bad, but bear in mind by this point several of us were considering chewing our own arms off we were that hungry and probably would have eaten a uncooked prawn and considered it gourmet. And to be fair, our mains turned up fairly quickly after that and were pretty good quality - understanding it was quite late and we were all pretty starving and wasting away by this point. The food was the only reason this review isn't 1*. Moment of the night was the waiter coming to tell us he'd forgotten to write one of the mushroom rice down and it hadn't been prepared. One of us told him "but you read it back to us", which was laughed off by the waiter to go hide in the corner by the till again wishing the world would just go away this evening. Only moments later the chef turned up with the mushroom rice that had been 'forgotten' so not quite sure of the history or fate of this poor bowl of rice. Finally having finished, the card machine decided to stop working and it took the best part of 20 minutes for us to be able to leave.

I'm happy to chalk this off as a 'bad night' on a hot day but boy, it was a bad night! The waiter was a funny chap in his defence but coping with 8 people at once seemed beyond things. I can't imagine what this place is like if full. Comically bad customer service, with reasonable food is the best I can summarise my evening.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank waystar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Balti also viewed

Stapleford, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Akbar Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing