We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corporate and unhelpful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Corporate and unhelpful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

If everything had gone to plan then I'm sure it would have been good. But their customer service was poor and rude and they clearly took advantage of our situation in a busy time. Won't be going to a devere again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipsRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am more than happy to discuss your review personally and ascertain what we have done wrong and how we can improve our offering.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    506
    118
    32
    30
See reviews for
208
486
42
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been to events at the adjacent conference centre several times in the past, but this is the first time since the hotel has opened. We didn't really know what to expect, but thought it would be good to not to have to worry about getting taxis late at night - it proved to be the right decision. The hotel looks modern but fits the space in the lovely campus perfectly, and there's plenty of easy parking. It still had a 'new' smell and look about it. The rooms were really pleasant and bright. We did, however, remark on the skill of the designers on making the whole look quite swish and expensive, whilst using only fairly bog-standard materials - for instance, the laminate desk and bedside shelves, so not sure how it will look six months down the line! The bed was comfortable, the towels big, white, and fluffy. Nothing to complain about at all. I would like to give a special mention to the staff who were, without exception, friendly, helpful and smiley - even at breakfast, which I have found to be quite a rarity!! Top tip though....don't book directly, there are much cheaper rates available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenmum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some fantastic comments. I do hope you choose the Orchard when you are next in Nottingham.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked a one night stay as visiting family. Lovely facade and the surroundings are wonderful, beautiful historic houses on the campus. Acres of park land, meadows, a boating lake, wonderful walks and gardens all on the campus. Efficient check in, room fine with a very nice bathroom. Plenty of tea, coffee etc. Bistro and Bar and an outside terrace. As we regularly visit Nottingham we will certainly stay again. You can use the University leisure facilities including swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some fantastic comments. I do hope you choose the Orchard when you are next in Nottingham.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Got a really good deal on a 1 night stay and was a little sceptical. Arrived to a new build hotel, plenty of parking, friendly reception staff and a room just as described. The feel of this hotel is modern/eco and the staff seem quite rightly proud of the product they serve.
Check in was swift, efficient and accurate. Polite reception staff.
Only little grumble was the lack of wifi although I understand this was a temporary glitch but still remained unresolved by the time I checked out the next morning. Also, I believe there is room service available but I couldn't find a menu in the room.
The bed was an oversized double; very comfortable with plenty of pillows.
Floor to ceiling windows of the campus area allowed masses of natural light and being situated bang slap in the middle of the uni campus, there's no road noise whatsoever.
A really pleasant stay; a great price. Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some fantastic comments. I do hope you choose the Orchard when you are next in Nottingham.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here - a Hotel set up to cater for guests attending events at the East Midlands Conference Centre on Nottingham University's very large campus - for 3 nights. We found the staff pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, pleasant and well-equipped with a comfortable bed. It was good to be able to open a window - the downside being hearing the noise of vehicles delivering fairly early in the morning.

The restaurant could be a bit chaotic - the problem being, for the hotel, not knowing exactly how many big groups would be eating in or out - and that was our first evening's problem - large groups in before we arrived. Food was excellent and we chose to eat here again another evening. Mostly, university students are employed as waiters here.

We were provided with tea, coffee, chocolate, biscuits and fruit at all hours

Regular half-hourly buses go into Nottingham from a stop nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynethBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Your observations ae valie, true and honest. I do hope that you choose the Orchard Hotel again when you are next in Nottingham.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Cost data : Prebooked, prepaid internet deal 20 pounds per room per night plus 7.50 pp breakfast.

I wouldn't normally have considered this hotel given it's location outside the city centre, but I was sent an email from DeVere with a 20 pound a night offer so I thought, why not.

How glad we were we took up their offer. The hotel is stylishly modern and is set in the beautifully laid out campus of Nottingham University. Rooms were good - fantastic shower rooms, comfy beds/pillows. Staff friendly in a genuine way - not just 'tick box' friendly. We didn't eat there in the evening but the menu looked good. We did have breakfast and I enjoyed that thoroughly - plenty of choice buffet style so if you leave hungry - your fault.

Unless you need to be in the City Centre at night for a specific reason, this would be my first choice. The hotel is about 3 miles out so easy car/taxi journey. We wandered around the campus in the evening - there are some walks through the various garden/lake areas which were very nice indeed. I will certainly stay here again if I'm in the area.

The hotel is opposite a smallish Conference Centre (where I suspect most of it's trade originates), but I wonder if they do 'deals' on non-conference days ? Worth asking.

Room Tip: Set in a campus area so I'm guessing most rooms are fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some fantastic comments. I do hope you choose the Orchard when you are next in Nottingham.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I cam here for a conference at the EMCC and stayed two nights at the Orchard Hotel next to it. The whole concept has been very well thought out, and the journey between hotel and conference facilities took about 30 seconds in the morning. The hotel is new, light, bright and airy, with a quirky Scandinavian type of decor. In the lounge/business centre area, there are long solid pine tables complete with large Macs with free internet access both on these, and throughout the hotel and conference centre. Service was faultless and very friendly, the reception area particularly good. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows and decor aimed at reinforcing their "green " credentials. Very comfortable and had everything you could need. Tea and coffee and fresh fruit were freely available at all times in both hotel and conference centre and the very reasonably priced bar provides a great place to linger with friends, or grab a bite to eat. Breakfast was buffet style and had a wide variety of hot and cold foods. Tea and coffee were fresh and hot and requests for specialty teas/decaf/soya milk were all met efficiently and with a smile. Great facility, well thought out, meets every need of a conference centre and delegates. I would certainly look to use this venue again - especially as it is also situated surrounded by beautiful parkland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some fantastic comments. I do hope you choose the Orchard when you are next in Nottingham.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
2.2 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#17 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing