We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Orchard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Both the hotel and the Conference Centre are World Class Venues. Very spacious public areas and a very comfortable room. Great location on the University Campus. The food was great and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steved01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for the comments and i am so pleased you enjoyed both the Orchard Hotel & East Midlands Conference Centre.

Many thanks,

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    535
    125
    33
    30
See reviews for
215
504
45
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A very relaxing three day break after Christmas in this lovely new hotel. The lobby area and reception are very spacious, the decor is modern and the lighting throughout the hotel very effective. Rooms are bright and modern and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant and all the staff were helpful and attentive. Situated in the grounds of the University of Nottingham there are plenty of walks that we could have taken advantage of, if it hadn't been for the pouring rain!! Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Higher floor for views over city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilk0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing such a great review. I do hope that you will come back and take advantage of the great walks on campus, weather permitting.

Thank you.

Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights here while visiting at Queens Medical Centre - a 15/20 minute walk through the parkland university campus. The location is great although a bit tricky to find. P'haps the company could ensure that their hotels are on the usual satnav systems. The bedroom was big enough & there was adequate storage. The bathroom [with bath] was good & the linen excellent. I am very happy with the modern minimalist style for brief visits. We had dinner in the restaurant on one night & we were in a hurry because of visiting times but having explained this the staff went out of their way to see that we were able to eat 2 courses within the time we had available. The food was high quality. Most of the staff were courteous & friendly - I suspect that those who were not were new to the job. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments. Dont forget to register for our up and coming promotional rates.

The team look forward to seeing you again.

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A great hotel – slightly different from the ‘run of the mill’ we’d have expected for the economical price we paid. Beautifully clean, stylish and providing everything we needed for a short break. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom excellent, the room warm and inviting. We ate only from the bar menu, but that was well priced and presented – the staff happy to serve us on the mezzanine which we preferred.
The location was good, easy to find and park, and with good access to motorways etc.
We’ll be booking again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevLyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for some great feedback following your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay .

Wishing you all the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel took some time to find in the dark, as there were no road signs to help, and internet map links sent us astray. Building, particularly the entrance foyer, reminded me of my local hospital. Room VERY minimalist, with only a carpet square under the bed, making it noisy - and uncomfortable - to walk around the rest of the room on the 'boards'. Pillows like boulders - extremely uncomfortable to try to sleep with - and bed very firm, too. No information literature in the rooms whatsoever. Decided to have a 'baquette'(sic) in the bar - what a mistake! Very loud muzak, and when the rolls arrived they were made from the 'cook at home' type of baguette that you can buy in a supermarket to pop in the oven when needed, but unfortunately this latter action had not been done. Result? Disgusting, stodgy and inedible baguettes. When I pointed out that the rolls should be cooked before serving, mine was whisked away and returned some minutes later beautifully golden - but still hot! As I had rare roast beef, I hastily had to pull it from the roll to prevent it from becoming well-cooked beef.
At 10.35PM we had a refuse lorry directly outside our room clanking around for several minutes - could this not be done in the daytime - but at least we didn't need to set an alarm for the next morning, as some nearby bells chimed 7.00 to wake us up. Breakfast was good, and regularly restocked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at the Orchard Hotel. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. All reviews posted are subjective and i would like to take the time to respond to the observaions you have made.

The design and build is of the highest quality and i agree that it is very modern. I am not sure that describing the entrance foyer as reminicent of a local hospital is fair and it is completely inaccuarte.

The room you were alloacted was an Executive Room which as a king size bed, 42" LCD TV and a host of additional ammenties. The carpet is in laid around the bed with soft wood flooring, for which we provide with complimentary robe and slippers for your comfort. i do apolgise if this was not to your liking.

The pillows and beds are appointed to the highest DeVere Standards and this has never beed raised as a concern in the past, again please accept my sincerest apologies.

We failed to deliver a quality Beef Baquette for you and i am so sorry for this.

The refuse lorry should not have arrived that late at night and this situation has now been resolved and thanks to your feedback we have addressed this.

Your feedback has been invaluable and for this i thank you.

I do hope that you will return to the Orchard Hotel in the not too distant future.

Wishing you all the best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We secured a deal by a direct email from De Vere - £38 for B&B for one night. The hotel is new, the foyer is cavernous and the decor contemporary. Our room was very pleasant - not overly spacious but the bed was large and comfortable. Lovely bathroom with toiletries. Very clean. Free WiFi. Breakfast buffet was very good and much better than its competitors at this price. We understand that you can make use of a swimming pool nearby but we didn't realise that until after we arrived. The location, although very peaceful, is a bit off putting at first. The hotel is on Nottingham Uni's campus. However, wouldn't hesitate to return if a similar deal came up again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your commenst are much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on route to our holiday. Hotel is smack in the middle of the university campus and about 10 minutes from the city centre.
The hotel is only a couple of months old and so is all sparkly and new (smells nice too).
Staff were very friendly at check-in and check out.
2 points that I feel could improve the hotel (if only small ones)
- the hearing controls need some instructions
- the water pebble in the shower is nice idea but pointless as I imagine 95% of customers would be unaware of what it is/ does
Another great devere to add to the portfolio. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasse H, General Manager at De Vere Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for some great feedback and your comments are very valid. There is an eco card in the bathroom that explains the use of the bathroom pebble. Our eco message is a strong part of the build and and the theme that runs throughout the building and the team.

The heating controls are very eco friendly although they can appear a little confusing.

I really do hope you come back and stay with us.

Wishing you the very best,


Lasse Högberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
610 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Orchard Hotel

Property: De Vere Orchard Hotel
Address: Of Nottingham University Park University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RJ, England (Formerly De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the De Vere East Midlands Conference Centre, architects and interior designers have developed the eco-friendly building featuring accessible rooftop terraces, green roofs and maximum use of natural daylight. Spanning 330 acres, hotel incorporates an executive lounge, 160-cover restaurant, bar area, outside terrace, gym and four meeting rooms. Built to the highest environmental standards, the hotel will feature state-of-the-art technology to reduce carbon emissions. Solar photovoltaic panels and ground-sourced heat technology are also incorporated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your De Vere Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing