We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely night in a lovely theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall

Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall
Ranked #5 of 119 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall are 2 first class entertainment venues in Nottingham. Come and see top West End musicals and plays, opera and ballet, pop, rock and classical music, children's shows and side-splitting comedy.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely night in a lovely theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went to watch dirty dancing at this theatre. I must say i was very pleased. The bar facillities and entrance were very modern, but the actual theatre was quite old fashioned, which i feel added to the evening. It is a very cosy theatre with a great cocktail of new and old.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    193
    43
    18
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Over the years I have seen many shows at the Theatre Royal and also the Concert Hall, both are very nice and comfortable.
I saw the Strauss orchestra last year which was delightful, and more recently 42nd street another excellent performance.
They do put on some lovely shows.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirls2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plastic beakers for wine ?????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I took my wife and daughter to see Les Ballet Trockadero de Monte Carlo at the Royal Concert Hall recently and they were utterly fantastic and very funny. If ever you get the opportunity to see them don't hesitate to do so. My revue however, is to do with the interval drinks as this took the edge off of our overall experience. The bar was understaffed by indifferent personnel, the wines were of very poor quality with no choice other than one of red, one of rose and one of white, all 'on tap' and very expensive and to add insult to injury ( get this !! ) served in PLASTIC BEAKERS !!! Such a shameful cheap and tacky approach from such a prestigeous venue and was totally unexpected.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank twillfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
219 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“An old style Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Theatre Royal is a great place to see a show, whether ballet, opera or theatre. It retains many of the original features and feels very grand but at the same time is intimate, allowing every audience member to engage with the performance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turkishholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

we go every year to panto it is always good here we always take family the bar its best pre order drinks we love it this year was best so far we laughed our heads off you must book next year its worth every penny

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank christie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Theatre Royal & Royal Concert Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing