We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cods scallops” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cods Scallops

The Cods Scallops
Ranked #13 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cods scallops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The cods scallops is my favourite fish & chip shop..food gets 10/10 every time as does the excellent service...every time i go i am more than happy and cant wait for my next visit !!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 686sally22686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    64
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sit in fish and chip shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The traditional seaside decor and tables to sit in an eat makes this such a good fish and chip shop. The foods nice and fresh. Just a note the chips are cooked in Beef drippings for a traditional taste, so obviously aren't suitable for vegetarians.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Papersnowflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

A real gem, with a wet fish counter where you can buy anything from Crabs, Lobster, Oysters, Sea Bass to Cod and Haddock. It also has a licensed bar and is both a fish and chip takeaway and a restaurant. Everything is so fresh !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible - best fish and chips in Nottingham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was the halibut on the menu that attracted us to this restaurant as it is my favourite fish. Unfortunately halibut was still "out at sea" when we visited, but instead I had the monk fish pieces that were equally as delicious.

Table service was slow, but not a problem as we were not in a hurry. The takeaway side of things was busy.

The food was fresh, delicious, well cooked, and there was excellent attention to detail. The mush peas were perfect, the buttered bread fresh, and the tomato ketchup and tartare sauce were both wonderful and home made.

I had a locally brewed beer that was delicious. My partner said the wine was excellent too.

We were very impressed with this restaurant. Previously the best fish and chips had always been in Whitby. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant if you like proper British fish and chips with all the trimmings and a sit down service at a licensed restaurant.

Great value too - £27 for the meal for two including the beer and wine!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The fact that this fish and chip shop has a wet fish counter shows it is going to be fresh, the fact it is also licensed is a nice touch. The service is excellent and the food standard fantastic, offering both a restaurant and a takeaway service gives flexibility too. Very very impressed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cods Scallops also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Cods Scallops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing