We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ladies that lunch”

Beauvale Priory Tearooms
Ranked #5 of 51 Coffee & Tea in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the ancient Gatehouse of Beauvale Priory, home to Nottinghamshires Carthusian Monks.The Priors of Beauvale were the first to be hung, drawn and quartered under Henry VIII dissolution of the Monastries in 1535.Ruins are free to look around while the Tearoom is open.Open Wed to Sun 10am til 4pm, serving Tea, coffee,homemade cakes, homemade soups and light lunches.Free range chickens and ducks roam freely around the farm.
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ladies that lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have been here a few times cannot fault anything, food been lovely, setting is perfect, cream teas have lovely thick bread. cake and scones home made,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    41
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good setting”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good service, good food. If you are in the area then call in for a little something. Worth a try. It is always good to see that a priory is ruined. I look forward to having tea at good little places next to the ruins of all churches, synagogues, mosques. The death of religion can only be good for tearooms.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This tea room is just a couple of miles from where we live yet we had lived here for two years before we discovered it. It is a quiet unassuming tea room in a beautiful location in the grounds of Beauvale Priory (only small ruin remains) with fancy chickens roaming around. It is lovely to sit outside weather permitting and providing you are not unlucky to be there at the same time as noisy children or barking dog very tranquil and relaxing. Can highly recommend the high tea and the selection of home made cakes. The proprietors hold beer festivals approx twice a year which are great fun and include BBQ and music, details can be found on their website.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank speedwell1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Gem !”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Come across this place by accident last year and popped in for a quick coffee whilst on a walk with our dog.
Revisited the place on Sunday to treat my mum to a cream tea for her birthday. We both loved it to bits, it was such a treat and really nice to be able to eat somewhere knowing everything is homemade. We was also allowed to take our dog in the tea room with us which was really decent of the staff as not many places allow this.
Excellent service.
I recommend this place to everyone and we will be back soon :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire,England
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always enjoy Beauvale.”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Love the luxury afternoon tea's delicious.
In the winter its toasty to sit by the roaring fire and when the weather is good it's a treat to sit outside while the peacocks and hens potter around you.
Always a favourite place for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank citcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauvale Priory Tearooms also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Kimberley, Nottingham
 
Underwood, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Beauvale Priory Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing