We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem!”
Review of Aurora - CLOSED

Aurora
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden Gem!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I ate here with my mum who was visiting for the weekend. If it wasn't for TA then I don't think we would have known about this fantastic restaurant. Walking down into the restaurant and the cool interior we were expecting the meals to be priced towards the higher end but were pleasantly surprised to be handed set menu's for 2 & 3 courses at £16.95 and £19.95 respectively. At such a reasonable price we were not expecting too much, yet again we were more than pleasantly surprised. The food here was up there with the best of restaurants we have eaten in (and we recently dined at Restaurant Sat Bains). We all had different dishes for each course and were all blown away with the quality and standard of the food. We will certainly be visiting again and probably a few more times after that as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hull_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    87
    31
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Saw this on tripadvisor ahead of a trip to Nottingham and added it to my shortlist. As luck would have it, the restaurant was right by our apartment!
Was surprised by the price as the menu online didn't say and I assumed it would be more expensive but it was £16.95 for 2 courses or £19.95 for 3 courses at dinner time and a couple of pounds cheaper for lunch. A few dishes on the menu jumped out at me but I went for the chilli and cola glazed steak (adding a £2 supplement) and it was lovely, tried some of my boyfriend's chicken risotto - oh my god so delicious. The service was good but didn't really stand out for me, no concerns at all though. The side of seasoned veg was beautiful and the mango cheesecake with spiced pineapple was lush! Nice building and decor. Would definitely recommend and would like to see what other dishes they have next time the menu is updated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilikeholidays77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a table of four last weekend and we were all blown away!! Superb little find, great food and value .. Could not fault.. And cannot wait to return..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited here one night on basis of other reviews and local press comments, thoroughly enjoyed the evening with good food, great atmosphere and fun staff. Well priced, good presentation, and not snobby! Try it out, I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had read mixed reviews on Trip advisor but was pleasantly surprised. We really enjoyed the non-pretentious atmosphere and excellent food & service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 326Jay_Bird_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora also viewed

Car Colston, Nottingham
Arnold, Nottingham
 
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
West Bridgford, Nottingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing