We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find on a trip to Nottingham”
Review of Aurora - CLOSED

Aurora
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find on a trip to Nottingham”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My first review, but felt I had to for such an amazing meal. Turned up on a Thursday evening and down the stairs to a really pleasant little restaurant with about 15 other people dining around us. Was sat down by a really nice waitress, and given the menu which we had excitedly looked at. So many delicious choices, and such reasonable price at £17 for 2 courses (Evening meal) or £19 for 3 I think?

We decided we were going to save ourselves for desserts, but ordered some bread for the table (£2.50), and I went for the roast chicken and sweet potato and my girlfriend went for the pork belly with black pudding and kale, along with a lovely bottle of house white wine. Even the warm ciabatta bread was amazing, with home-made butter and some green-oil dip (not sure what was in this, but was a nice change from regular olive oil!). The mains were amazing, beautifully presented and tasted absolutely delicious. The chicken and pork were both so tender and it all looked great.

For desserts, we decided to share, I went for the panna cotta, and whilst we really fancied the cheese board, we weren't too excited with the stilton on offer, as we are a bit wimpy, but the waitress quickly asked the kitchen and we were offered a cheddar instead, so took that. They were some of the best desserts I have had in memory and just a great way to end of the meal.

Great service, great food and fantastic cosy atmosphere to get away from the January snow.

Will definitely return if I am back in Nottingham, and recommend to all! Thank you so much Aurora, it's the kind of experience that makes you smile!

£50 for 2 courses each + a bottle of wine, but worth every penny (and I'm a student!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    87
    31
    11
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great value.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This basement restaurant in Nottingham's Lace Market provided us with a great evening. Four of us dined, the food was all cooked to a high standard and well presented. Service was friendly and pleasant. We could not fault the food at all! Scallops were perfectly cooked, terrine well seasoned and meaty, lamb pink and succulent, steak tasty, and red snapper perfectly complimented by the choriso and sauteed potatoes. The desserts were also superb, the trio of chocolate was as good as anywhere, ever, and the pstachio parfait and warm toffee bananas scrumptious.The only possible comment might be that the parfait tasted more of almonds than pstachios, but was delicious all the same. And perhaps a mint or choccy with the coffee might have been a nice final touch. But I am nit picking really , it was great, fine dining at pizza prices. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic young restaurant .”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We celebrated a birthday here after reading reviews on trip advisor. We could not have asked for more as it was a truly memorable experience. The location in the lace market is unique, a much under used and beautiful area of nottingham city centre. The restaurent is in a basement creating a hideaway location and is very tastefully decorated. But to the important features, the food and service, it was simply perfect and with a set menu price, very reasonable for such excellent quality. The deserts were particularly amazing, full of flavours and beautifully presented, as was all the food.
Thank you to all the staff, the chef even appeared, serving at table and checking all was well with the diners. What more could we ask for. We just need to book again soon!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larkyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food at an excellent price!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate here recently and wow what an experience! The menu was small which told us straight away that all produce was cooked fresh. The choice was good and the dishes arrived very well presented. Service was also exceptional. The owners vision of bridging 'the gap between the menu locked chain restaurants and the top end wallet bashers' is most certainly being realised. We will definitely eat here again. Fantastic!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent new year at aurora”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A really great New Year's Eve at aurora, brilliant food, great service, good atmosphere, and all at very reasonable prices. Our third time, and won't be the last,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Arnold, Nottingham
 
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
West Bridgford, Nottingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing