We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bar meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been here several times but this is the first time since the takeover. We had a meal from the bar menu and it was absolutely delicious! Great value for money, good fresh food, great service and parking just outside! We will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank debsmaltby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 512 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed twice in June/ July. Having booked months ago, I was perturbed by subsequent reviews. Understood change of management had led to wedding cancellations and all the hassle that brings. Rooms ok and neat and tidy. Bit noisy at front with music from outdoor restaurant below. Service fine especially reception. Fair walk to town centre, 20 minutes or so. Nice to walk through park though. Food was disappointing... greasy fish and chips! Breakfasts though were poor and I couldn't face the 2nd morning so went across the road to the lovely deli serving wonderful freshly prepared rolls/ sarnies! Put off by "plastic" bread, poor ingredients and cheap juice. Service not good then either.

Will be interesting to see how/ if this settles down after new management and all the rebuliding.

Room Tip: Not at front due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 646GeoffS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Walton-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I'm sorry you were disappointed with the food on this occasion. I have passed your comments onto the chef to ensure all our dishes are consistently of a high quality.
With regards to our breakfast, we have recently made changes to the menu so we offer a wider range of both hot and cold items. Our chefs are also baking freshly made muffins and pastries every day along with homemade granola. In addition we are also launching our homemade jam and marmalade shortly which we are very excited about !
I hope you have an opportunity to give us another try in the future and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have been here many many times, and the food always wonderfully presented, good quality and very tasty, the service was always excellent too.
Due to health issues not been for a few months, anyway I was about to book lunch last week, when i was told it had been taken over and the price of lunch had gone for £8.50 to £12.50 almost a 50% rise, I asked to speak to the owner and asked why such a steep increase, to be told the food now is by far better quality, ( there was nothing ever wrong with it before ) I then went on to say after looking on Trip Advisor there had been many negative comments left recently ( since the new "take over" ) the owners reply was that people find it mush easier to leave negative comments than positive ones,now.......with all due respects, if one is to read the comments pre take-over they are all rather positive, and I beg to differ that people only bother to write comments if they are not happy with the food/service, many many people, care to write positive comments after a good dining experience if your to go back just a few months and read the comments left ..most are very positive indeed, the lady owner of this hotel concluded our conversation with."well if people dont like it they can go elsewhere " Im sure they are doing Madame and so will I from now on...refurbishment higher prices many changes.....maybe you should have left things as they were for a while........you may have then noticed there was so many things that just "didn't" need to be changed, they were just "perfect" as they were, the only thing I would like to change is the owners attitude. maybe by listening to your customers positive criticism, you may stand a chance of making things work in your favour.....but with an attitude that says ....if you dont like it go elsewhere, I doubt very much anything is going to change back for the better.....so I will leave it here and as you suggested ...go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
12  Thank tintinboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Walton-Hotel, Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us – we take customer feedback very seriously and were disappointed to read that you are unhappy with the new set menu pricing.
We have carefully reviewed our prices and believe that £12.50 for 2 courses still represents great value. We now have fresh produce supplied daily from new local suppliers including Hambleton Bakery, the Nottingham Cheese Show and The Fruit Basket and new seasonal dinner menu choices such as Cornish Crab and Rump of Derbyshire Lamb. We hope you give us another chance and dine with us soon, we’d love to know what you think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Dined here on Saturday evening. Unfortunately we were 2 out of 6 diners at 8 o' clock in a dining room for 50, so some people must have been put off by the poor recent reviews.

Good small menu, food was very good and well presented and the staff were very attentive. Wine a pricey, but the bottle of Chardonnay was very good.

Will go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RANDTBASFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food we had today 3/8/14 was very disappointing. Average at best. Salmon was grey, very small portion, jus wasn't nice, vanilla flavour not good with rest of dish. Just felt no love had gone into it. Bland. Not cheap either. Sorry but can't recommend Waltons for food.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Melpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Walton-Hotel, Manager at The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.
I'm sorry that your chosen dish didn't live up to your expectations. We have made many changes in the kitchen over the past few weeks including a major investment in new kitchen equipment so that
we can utilise the best ingredients, cooked to the highest standards.
Customer satisfaction is something we take very seriously and in line with customer feedback we have amended our menus recently to ensure they offer a cross section of dishes at varying prices. Our lunch set menu and pre-theatre menus offer excellent value for money. I will make sure your observations on portion sizes are followed up with the head chef and the relevant staff members.
Regards
The Walton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked a meal at very short notice for an early evening family celebration - 11 of us aged 13 to 82, so not an easy task! We were very pleased with the service. The food was good and reasonably priced ( set menu now offered in the evening - although could be more extensive). The restaurant manager and staff were very attentive, going out of their way to make sure that everyone was comfortable. It was a lovely family occasion and we would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sally2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were supposed to have our wedding reception at this hotel but were one of the unlucky couples who had their plans changed with only weeks to go before our big day which resulted in us cancelling the reception at the Walton Hotel.

If Alice Tarry had managed the transition well, we probably would have continued to hold our reception here, but it was made very clear once Mrs Tarry had taken over the hotel that she had no intention of keeping our booking, instead we experienced a catalogue of errors, firstly nobody told us the hotel had changed hands, then when we asked if there would be any changes to our day in light of the new ownership, we were asked to send a copy of our agreements over to the hotel, after chasing feedback from the hotel, we were asked to send the information once again, as we had been a week without any feedback, we made the decision to take an afternoon's holiday from work and drive to the hotel to resolve the issues. on the way to the hotel, I was informed by one of the guests due to attend the wedding that they were being contacted by the hotel, asking for full payment of their rooms, if payment wasn't made in 4 weeks, their room rate would increase by £30!!
On arrival at the hotel we were less than impressed and no senior staff would speak to us, it was left to one of the bar staff who have now left incidentally to tell us that there was nobody to see us and that once Mrs Tarry has time to deal with our queries she will get back to us. We waited for over an hour but still no senior staff would see us so we left and made arrangements with a different venue.
All of the above was compounded by the fact that Mrs Tarry then labelled us and couples in the same situation 'wedding chavs' on her personal facebook site..

I would NEVER stay here and would not recommend it to any of my friends, family or even enemies..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
13  Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: $109 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing