We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Home Away from Home in Interesting Nottingham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfy Home Away from Home in Interesting Nottingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a nice area of Nottingham. The hotel appears to be a converted mansion. It has a comfortable at home feeling.

The staff are very friendly and helpful in all respects. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. Bathrooms are roomy and clean. Ample parking in the rear of the hotel.

Breakfasts were very nice and plentiful.

Bar area is great for a relaxing drink in an old British club-type environment.

The property is quite charming.

We very much enjoyed the visit. The hotel is located within walking distance of the sites of Nottingham and some very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mliccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    120
    64
    28
    37
See reviews for
108
163
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were at Walton's in October to stay and for an evening meal. We took my aunt there for lunch on Saturday March 9th for a treat. We were a bit disappointed this time, no ambience. We chose from the a la carte , 2 had beer battered fish and I had steak. The portions were very small as was the fish. My steak was rare and I had asked for medium. We didn't say much because it was a treat for my aunt. 2 had very nice puddings. I had liqueur coffee which was served in a cup with a jug of milk! Daniella apologosed for this and said the barman was new and she didn't charge us for our bread and dips to compensate. Annoying intrusive music came from the bar area. Daniella was excellent and very professional but overworked as she had to teach the barman too! The special fish was Coley! My husband was horrified as this is the cheapest fish available and the price was high, we did not choose this. Pauline was not there and I hope she sees this review because we will not be so keen to visit again. Daniella should be commended and promoted though as she kept calm and was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Recent one night stay for work. Very welcoming, room ready an hour early so I was able to check in when I arrived. Big room with triple bays, very comfortable large bed. Lovely evening meal in the hotel and breakfast, would definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were married at sea in December 2012 and we chose the Walton's for our wedding meal for family and friends back in the UK. Despite one postponement from us due to adverse weather conditions the hotel general manager, Pauline Mee, was most helpful in arranging a new date, 2 March. We had 40 guests, some of whom had visited before, but many first time visitors. They were all full of praise for the ambience, quality of food and service.

Pauline was on holiday but her deputy, Sarah, was equally helpful in seeing through the last-minute arrangements and, even when off duty, was on hand with her son to help set up the projector and laptop displaying our wedding photos to wonderful effect.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed due to the general good reviews. I was in Nottingham for a business trip and the room I was allocated was above the kitchen.
Please note the following points:
1. The noise of the kitchen fan below my window made sleeping very difficult.
2. I arranged a wake up call for a morning meeting but did not receive it. The only reason I was able to make my meeting on time was because I could not sleep due to the loud fan.
3. When trying to order room service I called 5 times before my call was answered.
4. One of the reasons I chose the hotel was its free Wifi service. Sadly even after asking for assistance when I found it wasn't working I was only able to use it for 2 minutes during the whole evening.
5. When mentioning these points to staff it was I was offered no direct apology for any of the problems i experienced.

I was very disappointed in this hotel and I could not recommend staying there, which is a shame as I would have considered staying regularly, had I been offered a better service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SteveDLon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I have just got back from a weekend stay at The Waltons and I have to say that I can't find fault with it at all.
Check in was smooth and my room (20) was spacious and immaculate as was the bathroom. The latter had a bath and a shower with plenty of fluffy white towels plus complimentary toiletries.
Both evenings I dined in the restaurant with a friend and as a resident didn't need a reservation. It was extremely busy but the food and service were A1. The Sunday Roast we had in the bar because the restaurant was heaving by 1pm but that wasn't a problem to us and once again the food was excellent. It is great value for money and no more expensive than having a similar meal in a local pub or restaurant. One thing that stood out is The Waltons is very much favoured by the locals which is a good thing. I am one too but just treated myself for a weekend being pampered.
The Staff were all extremely efficient and friendly and without doubt this hotel runs like clockwork but it is relaxed although a very elegant hotel. Actually the title Hotel doesn't really describe it too well. A converted hunting lodge which it is describes it to a tee.
So value for money. I would say that it is priced realistically and is cheaper than some other hotels in Nottingham. Probably why it is difficult to get a room reservation. It took me months to get mine.
So this is a TA review from a local all round.
I do occasionally have a weekend Hotel treat in Nottingham and I have tried a few but The Waltons has to be my favourite so far.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We staged my son's 21st birthday celebration at the Walton's Hotel on Saturday 2nd February 2013. We selected the venue back in October 2012 after looking at many other possibilities.
On our first visit we met Pauline Mee, the General Manager, who offered us a very warm welcome and was very attentive to our needs.
We were able to reserve, for our exclusive use, three connecting function rooms which served as bar, disco and dining area respectively. There were approximately seventy guests and the available space was just right.
We were also able to book accommodation for those guests requiring a stop over.
Pauline kept in regular contact with us up to the day of the event in order to finalise the arrangements.
The evening itself was an outstanding success.
The bar staff were excellent, the food supplied at the buffet was of the highest quality and the resident disc jockey was complimented on her playlist.
I highly recommend the hotel to anyone who is considering staging a similar event to our own, to anyone who is looking for a lovely place to stay in Nottingham, and to anyone who fancies sampling some great food and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbjj1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#17 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#35 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing