We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had the Friday evening at Walton's hotel after seeing the ( fabulous)Strictly Come Dancing together with dinner and breakfast. Everything was very comfortable. We were well looked after - from the fresh olives in the bar to the pumpkin soup and salmon special at dinner to the tasty and well cooked breakfast. They were also happy to accommodate our son for breakfast at a very reasonable cost.
All in all very pleasant !

Room Tip: Room 29 has a lovely bay window with seats and is quiet even though it faces onto the main road at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 511 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked a Saturday night at Waltons in February.

We ended up checking in late and walked straight into a party in full swing. We were handed the keys and were pointed towards our room (15). The room was on the ground floor, opposite one of the function rooms (party in full swing) and right next to the toilets.

Although there is a double door which goes some way to cut out the sound, a stream of ladies high heels running to and from the toilets, banging doors was rather annoying.

What disappointed me was that a little customer service could have gone a long way. It looks like a great function hotel but a little consideration in where non-event guests are placed (or at the very minimum an acknowledgement if it's not an ideal situation for guests) and a little courtesy on checkin (beyond pointing towards the room from the front desk) makes the difference between us coming back or not. Waltons made no effort to make us aware of the party or apologise for any potential disturbance - not at the time of booking, not upon arrival and no one asked if everything was ok when we checked out.

Not somewhere I'd return to in a hurry, definitely not on a weekend.

Room Tip: Room 15 is on the ground floor and next to the ladies toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Indea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really know nothing about Nottingham at all. It was my first trip to England, and out of the country. However, I've stayed in various star hotels for most of my life, and consider myself an intermediate level traveler.

I find it surprising that this hotel got even a bad review, however, I know that even the best of hotels can have an off day here and there. Nothing can run smoothly 100% of the time. We were recommended this hotel based on a well known Doctor right down the street (part of the reason we were there). This hotel was very nice, clean, affordable (I think a bed and breakfast type place of this caliper in the states would definitely be at least $100 more) and very hospitable. They are very curt, but friendly. They took care of any issues we had promptly and graciously. Perfect scenario. They were there when you needed them, but they didn't act as if you were their new best friends. I have nothing but praises for them.

The hotel itself, as others have stated is walkable to the town center, which has plenty of little shops and restaurants. London is also just about a two hour train ride away, with the rail system being easy to navigate.

The other thing I will say is that even though our room was directly over the kitchen, other than a loud crash now and then, I never felt that it disturbed us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Statia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My friends and I (21 of us in total) had a lovely meal at The Waltons Hotel yesterday (17/1). We went for the Early Bird menu and the food was very well presented and great quality. We will definately be back. It's a lovely place to eat with a great atmosphere.
Sarah Prior

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3nights, very enjoyable. Comfortable room, quiet, with a nice bed, clean, staff friendly and helpful. Quality breakfast, cooked to order. Hotel in a nice area of Nottingham, about 10 to 15 min walk into the centre of town, withplentry of places to eat and drink. It was a brisk 20 min walk to the train station. Plenty to see and do in Nottingham for a few days, enjoyable post Christmas break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette3696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here on business in December. Very pleasant staff, if a little disorganised but it all adds to the charm. Had room service one night, slow cooked beef, which was excellent. Parking is on the road unless you get in early but its not really an issue as there is plenty of it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picklechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We got married here and every detail was perfect. The venue is beautiful, warm and inviting, and the staff are so friendly and efficient. The food was flawless and the service excellent. Pauline, the manager, made sure there was no stress and everything ran smoothly. The rooms are individually decorated - really quirky and lovely. The bridal suite is gorgeous.

Nothing was too much trouble and I would heartily recommend The Waltons for a wedding, a special occasion or simply a nice meal.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#14 of 41 in Nottingham
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 2 North Road | The Park Estate, Nottingham NG7 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#7 Family Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: $100 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Walton - Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walton`s Hotel And Restaurant
Waltons Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing