We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Digging down in the caves”

City of Caves (Tigguo Cobauc)
Ranked #7 of 132 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A set of man-made caves dating from 1250 AD that were discovered under the local shopping center. Part of the National Justice Museum.
Cromer, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Digging down in the caves”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We visited these caves a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed our visit. It is very good value for money when purchased with the galleries of justice tickets aswell. The caves are interesting as they are underneath the shopping centre and are worth a visit. We were allowed to wander around ourselves and see what was down there. It appeared that some parts off the caves had been closed off to the public which is a shame, it would be better if the caves were expanded so you could see more down there but i guess that is gonna cost money so you get what you pay for really. The staff were friendly and you got a brief talk before you went in. Overall it is worth a look when in the city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    338
    128
    43
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Who knew there were caves under Nottingham? It didn't look too promising tucked away in a corner of a rather dreary shopping centre. However the visit was fascinating, made all the more enjoyable because of the guide who took us round. He was funny and informative and really made the place come alive. Heartily recommend this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An experience of amazement underneath Nottingham.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A must for a visit when in Nottingham. The history and short tour underground was amazing. Such a lot of history to learn. We did this tour first then went straight to the Justice Courts and Goal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 474rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

an excellent, very entertaining, informative tour of the caves under the city centre, not too strenuous althoughthe ground is unlevel for most of the tour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was good but not as good as I expected”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My partner and I went on a self guided tour with an MP3 player which was good and informative. However, it seemed to drag out what I later found to be quite a brief tour as you're stood in the same places for a good few minutes each time. Apparently it used to be a lot bigger so I feel as though we have missed out on seeing a lot more. For £15 for two adult it was a lot of money to walk in what seemed a relatively small circle compared to the overall scale of the caves. It was interesting though and enjoyable just didn't quite wow us.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lw475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of Caves (Tigguo Cobauc) also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to City of Caves (Tigguo Cobauc)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing