We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great caves”

City of Caves (Tigguo Cobauc)
Ranked #7 of 127 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A set of man-made caves dating from 1250 AD that were discovered under the local shopping center. Part of the National Justice Museum.
Hameln, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great caves”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very interesting caves, but such a shame they are not a bit longer. Could have carried on walking down there for ages. Well done.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanja1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    324
    123
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting Caves”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Knowledgeable Guide. Tour conducted at the right pace. Value for money.(especially when bought as a joint ticket )

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good & interesting - but a bit disappointing...”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As residents of Nottingham, we decided to visit the City of Caves, as something to do while our car had its MOT. We bought the dual ticket which gives you entry to the Galleries of Justice too - great value & you have up to 6 months to use the other part of the ticket.
We arrived shorty after opening time on Saturday morning and found the staff very helpful when purchasing our tickets. I remember visiting the City of Caves a couple of times in the past, probably the last time being about 12 years ago & really enjoying it. Things seem to have changed in how you 'visit' the caves - I remember having some sort of audio tour with headphones, narrated by some 'medieval/war time children' which meant you could go round at your own pace & I'm sure there were more caves which were 'dressed' to a particular era - I'm not sure if this type of tour is available on other days, but our tour was in the format of one tour guide presenting the information to a group, lasting one hour.
As people who like to do things at their own pace, we found this type of tour quite disappointing in that we were constantly either waiting for people to catch up with the tour, waiting for people to finish taking numerous posed photos of each other or trying to listen to the tour guide while people held their own conversation! We did find the tour guide very good at her job, she was very informative & we learnt a couple of things we didn't know about the history of Nottingham. We did feel a bit awkward at times as she was clearly very passionate about what she was talking about, and it was unfair that not everyone was listening - it was rude!
The history of the caves is amazing & its such a pity that there aren't more caves that are accessible to the public as Nottingham could make a real tourist attraction out of it. It would be great to have some more information boards around the caves - the tour guide said one of the caves was the basement for a pub - it would have been nice to have seen the pub on a modern day map, so you could get an idea of where it would have been, or even just some facts about the pub/area. However, saying all of that we did enjoy our visit and would visit again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Interesting trip”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A bit surreal going into a shopping centre then under the centre into ancient caves. Very good lady guide who made the tour both interesting and fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crystalplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Value But A Tad Too Short”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did the "performance" tour, which was essentially just one tour guide showing us around and giving us a bit of history, no performance involved. It was reasonably priced however I was slightly disappointed by the size of the area covered as it only covers a minute fraction of the caves beneath the shopping centre, not a "city of caves". What we saw was good though, especially for the price, something for all ages and opposite a Wimpy which is another major plus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of Caves (Tigguo Cobauc) also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to City of Caves (Tigguo Cobauc)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing