We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Organised fun at its best”

National Justice Museum
Ranked #2 of 25 Tours in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Based in Nottingham’s historic Lace Market, the National Justice Museum is housed in Nottinghamshire’s Grade 2 listed old Shire Hall and County Gaol. The Museum uses original Courtrooms, dungeons and prison cells, along with a number of more contemporary galleries to exhibit collections relating to justice, the law, crime and punishment in a fun and interactive way. When visiting the museum you may also meet a variety of colourful historical characters with different stories of justice to tell.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Organised fun at its best”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Much better than the Dungeon franchise - better to hear the gore and have fun than constantly being scared to death by the hired am drams!

Tour guides knew their stuff and were enthusiastic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TudorLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    348
    77
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely Go”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Took the children at Half Term to the Galleries of Justice Museum and joined their actor-led tour "Crime & Punishment". We were highly entertained and the children were enthralled. Fascinating tour. Well worth a visit and a ride on the tram if you are passing Nottingham. The booking office couldn't have been more helpful when I contacted them. Family ticket available made this good value for the money. I would say not suitable for wheelchair users or those who may have difficulty with stairs, as this the tour descends below to the old gaol.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FionaW420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Museum and Experience”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We visited on 15 February 2014 and cannot recommend this enough to people!

Incredible to go inside such a place and very fascinating.

Very good value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Witty costumed interpreters”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Witty and lively costumed interpreters really do bring this evocative property to life. A good way to spend a couple of hours out of the rain but we actually went on purpose based on interest and other reviews. So much to take in and the costumed interpreters that led us and met us as we went were interesting and provoking. Slightly muted crowd which warmed to the jokes - none of which detracted from the sense of history of the building. We didn't use the cafe but it looked pretty good. We didn't use the "shop" which was a massive missed opportunity to marry the visit with a relevant shopping experience. Would recommend to any native or visitor to Nottingham.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rich635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really Interesting”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Visited with my partner for something to do and we were pleasantly surprised! We just walked round on our own with no need for a guide. It was really very interesting and I should imagine it would be fantastic for kids as there were lots of things for them to get involved in.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireT3185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Justice Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Justice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing