We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galleries of Justice

Galleries of Justice
Ranked #2 of 24 Tours in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover Nottingham's horrible history at the Galleries of Justice Museum through engaging actor led tours, fascinating free exhibitions and free kids activities. Experience life as a prisoner as you are taken on a journey through time to explore original prison cells, caves, dungeons and original Victorian Courtrooms. PLUS! Why not try their After Dark Tours and experience a Ghost Tour or Terror Tour every weekend? The Galleries of Justice Museum has recently been voted England's Best Small Visitor Attraction of the Year 2014!
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

we got the dual ticket which is worth it to gain enterance to this and also the caves down the road. This lasted about 1 hour 15 mins. It was very interesting and informative. Part of the experience is led by actors and the other is for you to wonder freely around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank natstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    336
    71
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“go see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

great place to visit
planning a ghost tour here next trip.
bought as part of a two part tour with the caves good value .
great live action hosts .
spent a couple of hours wandering round an awsome place

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit awkward”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've lived in Nottingham for about 2 years so thought I'd better go and find out what the galleries of justice is all about. I think the people doing the tour put in a great effort of being 'in character' and the exhibition has lots of interesting information. I went with a friend but there were lots of children on my tour and I think they would have enjoyed it more than me. It probably helps if you have an interest in history/law etc if you go here as I ended up not reading all the information as it didn't all interest me. There are a few interactive things to do so we got some good photos. If you go, you will need to book the tour in advance so we went in the morning to book it, went for lunch then came back after lunch for the tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Attraction in Nottingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very educational. Took some visitors from Texas and they thoroughly enjoyed learning about the history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a night out with a difference. We went on a ghost hunt and were scared all round the place. Good informative narration from the staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galleries of Justice also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Galleries of Justice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing