We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

National Justice Museum
Ranked #2 of 25 Tours in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Based in Nottingham’s historic Lace Market, the National Justice Museum is housed in Nottinghamshire’s Grade 2 listed old Shire Hall and County Gaol. The Museum uses original Courtrooms, dungeons and prison cells, along with a number of more contemporary galleries to exhibit collections relating to justice, the law, crime and punishment in a fun and interactive way. When visiting the museum you may also meet a variety of colourful historical characters with different stories of justice to tell.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

after reading other reviews thought this may be a bit dull but it was brilliant. We were the only people on the tour and they were brilliant. Informative and the place is full of history. Children would love it too, maybe a little scarey in parts for younger ones.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    346
    77
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Went here with my fiance, parents and my uncle (from Holland). We went on an organised tour so we had a couple of people to tell us more about the place. It started with visiting the court room, here they get you to do a role play. Me and my uncle participated which was fun. Then you get to visit all the other rooms including being put into a cell. This I would avoid if possible, if you are scared of the dark or clostrophobic. I was very scared although my family were with me.
I would not recommend it for disabled visitors as some parts are hard to access. But it is very interesting. A good time to visit is when they have the History day in September as you can visit the police station, this is also interesting.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank SkeggySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great education”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

went here as a child, was great fun really educational and not boring!!

Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOTTINGHAM GALLERIES OF JUSTICE”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A group of us visited from Scotland on Saturday 14th July. You could spend several hours here. It was extremely informative and interesting. The tour character guides were excellent, particularly The Sheriff. His ad-libing was inventive, spontaneous and very funny. Probably not suitable for very young children .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacknickolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Surprise in Store”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The use of a former courthouse and restoration of the old town gaol results in an amazing experience, especially for overseas visitors. Can't say any more or it would spoil your visit!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamApothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Justice Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Justice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing