We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Friendly staff and a great Beefeater restaurant attached, service in the restaurant was second to none. Extremely helpful and attentive. The meal was very tasty and the pudding was excellent. Go and see

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vshambrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    135
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
115
96
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed in Castle Marina Premier Inn on 2nd August for one night. Would definitely recommend. Warm welcome from reception and room was ready ahead of time. Well presented and very clean. Only reason we didn't give it 5 stars, the room was ridiculously warm even with window open but thankfully they did provide a fan and sheets for beds in addition to quilts. Stayed with children who slept well. Had lovely day in Nottingham, you can walk to the centre along the canal, only 10 minute walk. Great location and lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Good welcome, by receptionist, but from there our stay went downhill. When we got in our room, on the desk was a note saying that summer was here and that they didn't have air conditioning, so were leaving all room windows open and curtains closed; and that if we wanted our window closed, we must tell reception - why I thought, am I not adult enough to decide whether I want my window closed. They had provided a fan, which was very noisy and just moved the hot air around! Our stay got worse come the night. Well after midnight, it was still very noisy in the car park - which our room looked out onto. Then during the night, the hotel staff kept having loud conversations outside very near our window; so my children were unable to sleep - which by 1am, I was very fed up with and cross about their lack of professionalism and courtesy to guests trying to sleep. Even after I went and complained at reception, it still continued with different staff, later on during the night. We complained and left, in the next morning and went across the road to the Holiday Inn; who couldn't have been more helpful or considerate of our needs - so our advice is definitely stay at the Holiday Inn, it's a lovely hotel; at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Go across the road and stay at the Holiday Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danceshoes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Nottingham Castle Marina Premier Inn during the very hot period of late July 2014. Unfortunately for us and all the other guests that night the lift in the premises wasn't working. We had been given a room on the second floor, but the lovely member of staff in reception very kindly carried one of my wife's cases upstairs for her.

When we got into the room it was very hot and even though we put the fan on and opened the window we were unable to reduce the temperature beneath 29 degrees C. Sadly we had a very uncomfortable night and when asked the question 'How did you sleep?' by the reception staff in the morning we simply told them the truth - we hadn't.

We were given an immediate assurance that the night's cost of accommodation would be refunded and have since been sent an email by the group saying the cost has been returned to us. This was our second similar experience in four nights with the Premier Inn, having spent three elsewhere immediately prior to this visit.

Despite the problems we would never fault the Premier Inns' reception staff or room cleaners all of whom we find to be polite, clean and helpful. The company obviously knows there is a problem with heat in its buildings, particularly on upper floors as it provides fans. Sadly the equipment provided is not powerful enough to compete with hot English summer nights and more thought needs to be given to providing solutions to allow adequate room ventilation.

Great hotels on over 300 days each year - its only the hottest weather that causes problems in the remaining days.

Room Tip: In hot weather try and secure a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raikeswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I totally agree with the last few comments. We had intended to stay here for 2 nights over the Triathlon at the National Watersports centre today (27/07/14), having trained for many months. We settled down at 9pm the night before the Triathlon, but were still awake 2 hours later due to the heat. The room had a large fan (so the management must be aware of the problems), the noise of the fan made it impossible to sleep, Even that did not make much of a difference. Previous reviewer have noted the car noise and the small amount the windows opened made no difference to the temperature in the room.
We spoke to reception at 1am, and again about 2am. They apologised and offered water and a refund. We left for the Triathlon at 4am, with the room temperature at 29C, but not before cancelling the second night (expect the money to be refunded for the first night). As for the Triathlon, well after no sleep for 24hrs, 2.4 miles in the lake didn't appear possible- so withdrew.
So yes Premier Inn will refund for our sleepless night, but all the hours training all lost simply because we could not sleep. We will now make a habit of not booking a Premier Inn during the summer months unless it has air-con.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-902014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Support at Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Beware of staying in this hotel, during the summer. Would imagine its nice and cosy on a mid winter stay...... But avoid at all costs any warm day.
The heat is simply retained in the room, making a restful sleep impossible.
The staff were well aware of the problem as a fan was going full blast in a vain attempt to circulate what fresh air was in the room , and we're actually providing bottles of water in a bid to keep people hydrated.
Would not recommend taking elderly people, as the heat was so intense it actually made you feel sick, by the early hours.
Have stayed in Athens in the middle of Summer, where it was that hot I showered in the middle of the night to stay cool, did not expect to the same 3 times during the night in Nottingham......!!!


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed here whilst we were attending sports event at the National Watersports Centre - they offer bookings with the potential to cancel up to 1pm on the day - so ideal for booking in advance if you are not sure of your plans.

The good points are that the location is convenient for routes in/out Nottingham; plenty of parking; clean and perfectly serviceable; very comfortable main beds (but see below!); everything you need but no frills; and the staff are lovely.

Breakfast is in the adjoining Beefeater which has really improved since we ate there last year - excellent service, great breakfast. You have to go outside to get to the Beefeater which is a bit odd as they are the same building so you would think they could have made an internal door.

It was incredibly hot whilst we were there and there was no aircon, however they did put fans in the rooms so it was fine.

Cons: for me the big downside of my stay was that I booked a twin room but in reality they don't seem to have twin rooms. What I expect with a twin room is two proper beds, however what they offer is one very large comfortable bed with a great mattress and for the unfortunate other person a rather comfortable sofa bed. For me, with an ongoing back problem, this was disastrous and left me taking painkillers again despite being off them for several months. However for some friends also staying there in a similar room it wasn't a problem. What I do object to is being sold a 'twin' which does not really fit what most people would consider a twin ie. two beds. Beyond that I had actually called to confirm the day before that it was a real bed and received incorrect information. I have to say the Premier Inn did deal with my complain very well - refunded the room costs with absolutely no quibble, but I'd rather have had a proper bed and no back pain..

So, Premier Inn managers, if you do read this - you offer a good service which is let down by inaccurate room descriptions - please make it clear on your website what you are offering, with pictures so your guests can make informed decisions. Some will be fine with a sofa bed, others will chose to go elsewhere. Or even better, have a few rooms with two of those lovely comfortable proper beds - surely there is a market for them.

For anyone looking for a place with proper twin room, the Holiday Inn next door does have some rooms like that, although they seem to get booked up early.

Room Tip: No proper twin room - only sofa beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99SunSeaSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#15 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina

Property: Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina
Address: Castle Marina Park | Castle Bridge Road, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a stroll around the marina next door or set out on the mile-long walk to Nottingham Castle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Nottingham Castle Marina Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing