We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room sold as double was a single at best”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Hotel
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
1 review
“Tiny room sold as double was a single at best”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews shortly before stay as was booked by partner, they worried me. I was right to be concerned the "double" room was tiny with a small bed. Here is a list of other issues:
Only 1 glass
Dodgy electrics - had to hold plug into socket with foot to get hairdryer to work
Only 1 bedside table as room bit on small side
Only 1 pillow each (very thin ones)
No mirror by dressing table/desk area - not ably to dry hair put on make up etc
Long mirror besides window but no socket to plug in hairdryer
Bathroom - tiny shower cubical
Shower control difficult to use had luke warm/cold shower on 2 days
No towel rail or even any hooks to hang up wet towels - looks like remnants of fixings left in wall
Toilet roll holder in out if reach place - had to be a contortionist to use it whilst sat on toilet
Toilet roll was very low on one day and no spare supplied
Toilet seat loose
Mould on top walls in the bathroom
Bottom of shower cubical (door area) very dirty needs a good clean
Voile curtains in bedroom very grubby
Bin in bedroom covered in a layer of dust
Parking non existent - zero chance of getting a permit. Had to park in park and ride about 5 mins drive away
Directions given to park ad ride by reception not great if you are driving their as end up on one way streets and takes much longer than suggested (obviously given from a pedestrian point of view)
Noise outside bedroom window every morning at about 7 am someone getting access to lockup. Involving at least 2/3 doors which slammed shut. No thought to people trying to sleep in their hotel!
Rubbish bagged up but not taken one day
Thin walls - could hear neighbours or had to have tv on very low volume so not to disturb other guests
Reception - Didnt tell us where lounge, restaurant and bar was
Not enough plugs in room for 2 people - for charging cameras phones etc
Only 6 hangers in wardrobe - not great for 2 people staying for 6 nights
Rather strange main light switch - linked with switch by window over other side of room. Not possible to turn on at from door when returning - have to stumble over other side of room in dark etc
Poor reception on phone - free wifi does not work in the annexe properly intermittent.

All in all not great. Was staying during Ashes cricket for entire test but decided not to stay for the last night, couldn't stand sleeping in the tiny bed for one more night or prizing ourselves into the minuscule shower cubicle!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taratommyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    81
    67
    32
    47
See reviews for
24
101
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

stayed here last night for a graduation, booked it not really knowing what to expect. The room had a very big bed which was comfortable and a nice TV. All the staff were friendly. Yes the bathroom was very small but for £43 for a night what is there to complain about. People expect too much, if you want more pay more. Nice little hotel, doesn't deserve to be ignored. Did the job perfectly, thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogAndAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Oh my word!!
We were told that a parking permit wouldn't be needed as there are plenty.we drove round the back of the hotel which seems a terrible estate and didn't want to leave my car just"anywhere" we had to offer a person 7.00 to park on there drive.
The room was at the very top,and not enough room to get in to the shower unless your a size 6.
The ceiling in the shower room was covered in mould,and thick grunge around the skirting boards.
The only good thing was the receptionist,she was friendly and helpful enough,she only works here,as for MR Malik...he has a lot to answer for...the owner.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenterryence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with a mate when attending the Ashes 2013 Test at Trent Bridge. First external impression on arrival at the side entrance was that the place was worryingly shabby and uncared for. Interior was better but the place needs a fortune spent on it. Staff were all very pleasant but parking is a problem although I was fortunate to have one of only five permits for two of my three days in residence - alternatives are either very expensive or distant. My room was okay and generally functional. The shower was not great but worked okay after being patient with the control after it fell off into my hand a few times! Didn't eat or drink so can't comment but the place "did the job" for the needed purpose even if it wouldn't be my choice for a romantic city break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIRSTCRICKETTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

First impressrion, the garden is not looked after. The hotel smells as the bedrooms. Bathroom is really unacceptable, shower is dirty + mouldy. Rusty shelf for shower gel and shampoo. Window frame probably never been cleaned. Breakfast? Not much choice. No fruit at all. I asked for water and I got tap water. Only people we have seen in the hotel were builders.
Couldn't wait to leave the hotel and never come back again. There are much better hotel in Nottingham for this price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puma2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spent two days in mid-June working in Nottingham at short notice - and the Park, right by the Arboretum, was where I got to stay.
First, let's deal with the positives. The bed was large. The TV worked and had lots of satellite channels. The wardrobe and storage space was generous. Lighting OK. Tea, coffee-making was fine. The shower was great. Hot water was hot and you didn't have to run the tap for an hour. Worked well. More precisely, I slept well. The bar is well-stocked. The decor in the main hotel is splendid (more on this to come). Meals are OK (deep-fried is OK for under £10). Breakfast is £8.50 (I think the non-cooked option is £5) and generously sized. Parking arrangements were eccentric but effective. The staff are pleasant, pretty ladies from Eastern European States like Slovenia.
Second, let's deal with the negatives. My duvet smelt. I think ot was the duvet or part of the duvet...smelling of BO or smelly feet. The sort of unpleasant smell that gradually dawns on you and then you have to work very hard to ignore or whatever. It wasn't consistently unpleasant, but when I caught a whiff of it...it was. The bathroom was a large bare room, containing a WC, shower and washbasin with a light above it. They all looked lonely in a large bare tall room; as if they hadn't even been introduced. They were all fine - well, the sink was cracked, but the shower didn't have any mouldy bits.
Value for money - not bad. I didn't feel that I'd been overcharged, and I got it for under £40 late on. Broadly, £40 to £60 seems about right. The Arboretum and central position are major advantages. The Hotel has a diverse clientele - as you'll see from the reviews.
Curious? Well, if you do stay, just what do you make of the central restaurant/bar area? It's been lavishly refurbished and is certainly different. Opulent, perhaps. I pondered upon it. After some reflection it struck me that it's like the way some American movies used to depict up-market brothels. Flock Wallpaper. Mirrors. Faux-velvet. Hints of marble. Wooden floors. Rich colouring (grey, deep dark blue and crimson?). I think that this impression may not have been intended...anyway, I'll look to further postings to see what other people think!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very tired building that requires much in the way of maintenance & updating.Service less than spectacular but food was reasonable with an acceptable vegetarian option for breakfast.The bannisters looked far from safe as they were parting company with their fixings.Bizarrely,this was a complete contrast to the dining area that had luxurious seating & decor.The shower was a very poor dribble from a fixed height head.All in all it was adequate for my needs(I was attending a friends'wedding)but I would go elsewhere if returning to Nottingham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngerhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
#32 of 49 in Nottingham
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 49 in Nottingham
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 49 in Nottingham
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#25 of 49 in Nottingham
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: 5-7 Waverley Street, Nottingham NG7 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing