We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gig venue, great night out, great atmosphere!”
Review of Rock City

Rock City
Ranked #3 of 141 Nightlife in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great gig venue, great night out, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I love rock city for a night out particularly on a Saturday, it plays such good music (not the main stream rubbish like pretty much everywhere else) and the drinks are reasonable. I've also seen many of my favourite bands here, Love it. :D

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    111
    38
    22
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for rock and indie gigs.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been to rock city a few times for various different gigs- it is your typical grungy slightly smelly kind of place but that is what those type of gigs are all about!!!

Bit of a bar queue but that happens wherever you go.

Rock city is perfect for what it is designed for... Dancing drinking and singing.

Ticket prices are always quite good as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinkdunn92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rock City Rocks!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Amazing venue - you can stand at the bar and watch the gig! It is small enough to be intimate without losing any atmosphere. My favourate venue outside of London

The crowd is always good and it is ridiculously easy to get home afterwards with numerous parking lots in the vicinity

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shanklypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“rock the night away”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

great place to see up and coming bands,also famous ones...most band appearances are ticket only but has more than one room so can usually go anytime..its a bit 'stick to the floor ' in some places but the atmosphere is great

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent nightclub”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been to Rock City once now and should really go again! Everyone I know is always on about Rock City and this so called Love Shack, so I ended up going myself.

At times it can get really busy with it being so popular, normally you'd have to queue to get in. Majority of the time you'd also have to pay an entry fee, but I don't mind this knowing you've got in somewhere decent!

The music is alright, with mixes of anything such as rock down to electronica and grime-so there is a wide selection of music to suit anyone's tastes. The toilets are relatively clean, which is hard to come by in many nightclubs. The floor can get sticky with people spilling their drinks, but you'll get that anyway nowadays. The venue has a cloakroom for storing your coats and bags. But also a courtyard for anyone wishing to get some fresh air or go for a smoke. Drinks are reasonably priced and there are always offers such as jaga bombs for £1.00

If you fancy a decent night, come here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock City also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Rock City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing