We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai restaurant...”
Review of Thailand No.1

Thailand No.1
Ranked #268 of 1,421 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Thai restaurant...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a Thai in Nottingham last weekend and visited this place. Food was excellent, service very efficient. There are other Thai restaurants in Nottingham which are very good...but I suggest trying this place.

Helpful?
Thank dajamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    64
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK Chinese Food, Not very Thai”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Went for an evening meal with family. The waitress didn't understand the Thai principle of the land of smiles.
The tables were quite close together . The food was alright but I think it was more british chinese inspired than thai inspired. For starters I had sweetcorn fritters. The sweetcorn had obviously been left standing as the sweetcorn was quite hard. I had the chicken which had been apparently been marinated in coconut milk and barbecued with some sauce on top. The chicken was dry, did not taste of coconut milk or any sort of barbecue and the sauce tasted like the kind of curry sauce you get from a chinese chip shop. My partner had sweet and sour chicken in a sauce more like from a chinese takeaway than from the land of smiles.The bill for 4 of us was £90, a little steep when 2 of us drank only water.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Reasonable 2 course business lunch @£7.95”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Went yesterday (Tuesday) with a colleague for the business lunch. Plenty of choices, had the 3 Thai fish cakes and pad Thai. Colleague had same starter and beef in oyster sauce. Friendly atmosphere, prompt efficient unobtrusive service with at least a dozen diners including several regulars. This was my first time here and I would return again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Nottingham”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a really nice Thai food restaurant with an upmarket feel (food, decor, service) and takeout prices. This insures that it is usually quite busy with a local clientele so one gets the feel that the business is thriving. The dishes are mostly delicious (although we did have one instance of a rather dry and disappointing duck dish) and beautifully presented and the set menus are a great option for two or more people.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a lovely meal”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We eat here on a Saturday evening and although it was busy it didn't feel too crowded. My husband and I both had different meals and they were both excellent and very filling. Very attentive staff and really good value.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thailand No.1 also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Thailand No.1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing