We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“makes a change”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nada Budaya

Nada Budaya
Ranked #160 of 1,406 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“makes a change”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Malaysian a new one for me.
Starters varied from excellent to filo prawns that looked they came out a cheap packet.
Mains again from tasty to beef rendang which was a bowl of beef,no veg, no sauces, it was hard to get down, just unremitting chunks of beef.
Staff were nice which helps, I would give it another go as I feel I should try different food cultures.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maziah O, Public Relations Manager at Nada Budaya, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello there! We are thrilled to hear that its your first time trying Malaysian food. Thank you for taking time to write us a review and tell us your thoughts. We are very sorry you felt that way regarding our beef rendang and prawn starter. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our other dishes and service. Beef rendang is definitely an acquired taste and not everyone will like it instantly. It is our best selling dish though. Normally, the rendang does not contain vegetables although we do provide fresh vegetable pickle when requested. Our head chef is Malaysian and we cook it as they would in Malaysia. Our prawn starter is handmade by us and not from a packet. We will definitely take your points into consideration. Do let us know when you are back and perhaps we can recommend some dishes that are to your liking :)
Best wishes,
Iris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    95
    22
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Delicious food all of which was reasonably priced. The staff very all delightful too. Would definitely recommend Nada Budaya

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Son is going to Malaysia this summer and wanted to try out the food before he went - this restaurant is slightly off the beaten track but would thoroughly recommend it. Eldest son is vegan and he was impressed with the variety of vegan options available on the menu. The menu was varied without having too many options on.

Staff friendly and helpful without being too intrusive. Nice touch to get complimentary prawn crackers and pickles whilst perusing the menu.

Restaurant was very clean as were toilets.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoopyfan_gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and interestingly different cuisine ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We will be paying a visit to Malaysia this Summer, so we wanted to have a sample of the some of the food we would be enjoying out there. Staff were so friendly, place is enough to find near Revolution. Were given complimentary prawn crackers to start with an interesting pickle that was a mix between lime pickle and sweet chilli. My other half ordered the beef rendang with coconut rice and a nottle of Chinese beer. I had the tofu vegetarian noodle dish which was lovely. And the lychee bellinis were perfect! We shared this coconut rice dessert and chilli pineapple dish for pudding. The food was very authentic as the owner's wife was Malaysian and they had both travelled extensively around the country. We had a nice chat with the owner about Malaysia and he gave us some advice. All in all it was a lovely meal, Malaysian food is a mix between Thai and Indian - very different and that is exactly what we wanted.

Helpful?
Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is but should not be, a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Had time for an hour lunch break and decided to try something different. Wow! The venue is bright and warm even though its in a slightly victorian basement, the music is relaxing But the food and service is fantastic. I had the lunch deal two dishes, tofu starter and ''Curry Me'' main only £8 with large Chilean Sauvignon
Blanc to complete what was the best lunch I have had in ages. This is a must try place it deserves not to be hidden ?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inspectorjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nada Budaya also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Nada Budaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing