We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Piano

Cafe Piano
Ranked #193 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Piano ... For the love of Italy; a Bistro by day & fine Italian restaurant by night. Providing authentic, fresh Italian dishes with a friendly service.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is rapidly becoming the heart of Radcliffe. It is a cafe in the day and restaurant in the evening. Mums, kids, families, eveyone seems to use it just for a coffee or a full meal. Lovely staff and Victor is wonderful.

The risotto is wonderful my father is addicted to it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Had meal recently at this friendly restaurant, nice atmosphere and very pleasant staff. The food and wine was of very good quality.

Helpful?
Thank loosegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Ingredients But Not Cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am honestly surprised at all the great reviews for this place.

I have been 3 times for dinner and once for breakfast and have sampled their steaks and pasta. To me, this is one of Nottingham's many 'faux' Italian restaurants. By this I mean that it seems to have been a trend over the last few years for people to open up Italian restaurants without any prior knowledge of Italian cooking and the dishes are not authentic.

In addition, the ingredients - from the fillet steak to sausage on the full english breakfast (which was tiny and dry due to it being cut in half lengthways prior to cooking) are low quality and the prices are not. Even the scrambled eggs on the breakfast were poor - pale and watery.

If the food were half the price it would be in line with what is served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nottmgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Y, Owner at Cafe Piano, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are equally surprised to receive your comments. This is in light of thousands of very positive feedback from a wide range of customers over the past 5 years. Could we please be sure that you are referring to Cafe Piano at Radcliffe on Trent? You mention you have visited our restaurant three times. We wonder whether in any of these instances you expressed your dissatisfaction to our staff. We have a strict policy of asking every single customer whether they were happy with their food and service. Were you not asked whether everything was alright? Did you say anything or try to send anything back? Our Chef takes great pride in his work and closely monitors customer comments. We wish you had expressed your dissatisfaction the very first time you visited rather than visiting two more times and still not saying anything. As you can see by the other customers’ comments we are a very friendly bunch and you are more than welcome to visit us and discuss any issues with us in person. We look forward to seeing you at Piano Radcliffe on Trent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing meal out!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hi visited the cafe piano on a Saturday evening and found the food and service great but the down side was the seating space inside the restaurant was very tight. Overall a good evening for a fair price .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Y, Owner at Cafe Piano, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi,
thank you for your kind comment. Please let us know at the time of booking and we do our best to book your table near the window or one of larger tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant is a good, clean little place to go for a "day time" coffee and really good for an evening meal. If you don't want a Pub atmosphere but want a peaceful or romantic decent meal then this is a good place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Y, Owner at Cafe Piano, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you and see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Piano also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Radcliffe on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Cafe Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing