We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Travellers' Rest

The Travellers' Rest
Ranked #101 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Good value for money. Nice for snacks or full meal at lunch or evening. Serves hot drinks. Outdoor seating. Good car park. Reservations accepted. Been there years & years & had several revamps, so just gets better & better".
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Above average pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We ate here as a group of five with a young baby early Saturday evening. We were all impressed with the menu which had a wide selection of interesting meals. There was also a good selection of beers and wines. All our meals were really tasty, particularly the sea bass with scallops. A good night out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pboropixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    100
    44
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Third time eating at the Travellers rest. Food great, I had hand battered Cod and the wife had belly pork. I had to save some chips to dip in the pork gravy, it was so good. Good food, good friendly service, good atmosphere and for food this good a very reasonable price. I would recommend it to anyone, even food snobs would like it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ollynotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visited here a few times and always nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Been to a few Chef and Brewer's and this is possibly the best, the food is always lovely and the staff are always friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBexieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had a lovely meal at the travellers rest, mapperley top, nottingham. Greeted with a smile and shown to a table, service was excellent, food very good, drinks brought to the table. The price was very reasonable, will definately visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gail f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had another lovely visit to the travellers on Sunday greeted again with a warm smile from Pat who we see quite often, the also the staff that served us where all excellent which we have come to expect the new landlord well he has been hear a while is doing a very good job considering how bad this pub used to be. Thankyou

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Travellers' Rest also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Burton Joyce, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Travellers' Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing