We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Nottingham
Post
Inbox
Search

“AVOID WAITED AN HOUR WRONG ORDER RECEIVED TOLD ME TO TAKE IT UP WITH UBER”
Review of Desi Down Town

Desi Down Town
Ranked #228 of 1,549 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Desi DownTown is a new,modern restaurant cool,laid back atmosphere dedicated to providing a unique approach to authentic and traditional indian food prepared in an Open Theatre kitchen. Relax & Enjoy while listening to a selection of unobtrusive chill-out music.& If your looking for a place to hang out with a few friends, Desi Sheesha Lounge is the place to go, with music and great customer service you're bound to love it!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food I received looked absolutely disgusting, did not resemble the photos on the app. The guy I spoke to told me he can’t do anything and to get a refund through Uber. It’s 8pm now we’ve been waiting since 7pm for the food only for the food to be incorrect and inedible. The keema naan doesn’t even look like a keema naan and what should have been an orange creamy chicken tikka curry was more like babies vomit. Straight in the bin.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Jordanbrown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 250 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2019 via mobile

This place has beautiful food, reasonable prices, friendly staff and even an open kitchen so you can see food being prepared....the food is so delicious and cooked to your liking. 15 of us and we were all served at the same time and drinks were served quickly. Added bonus....they're in just eat...so don't even have to leave the house.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank carlacatsgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019 via mobile

Lovely food and plenty of it. Open kitchen and you could see the chefs preparing and cooking the food. Great value. Only downside is the toilet facilities- they need a serious sorting out!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Hayles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

Surprisingly quiet for a (lateish) Saturday evening but this meant that we were very well attended to.
Food of exceptional quality was served by friendly and attentive staff.
I am no stranger to a decent curry having traveled extensively in the Sub-Continent and living near enough to Bradford to have sampled some of the finest: and Desi Down Town served up some of the best food I've ever sampled. The starters were exquisite and I highly recommend the Paneer Tikka which surprised in its appearance and blew the mind with the flavour. The curries that followed were exceptional; clearly freshly prepared, loaded with flavour and packing a punch.
If you could choose only one place for a curry in Nottingham, make it Desi Down Town. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dughall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

Visited this restaurant during my visit to Nottingham. Chicken Jalfrezi , lamb sag and biriyani were superb. Some Bangladesh players ate at this restaurant. The desi chai was out of this world.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank shalimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desi Down Town also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Desi Down Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing