We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ashmores

ashmores
Reserve with OpenTable
ashmores is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 1,405 Restaurants in Nottingham
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The freshest finest food at outstanding value Lunches £13.95 for 3 courses. Dinner menus 2 courses starting at £13.95, 3 courses at £17.95.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited Ashmores one Saturday evening in late January and all seven of us in the party certainly enjoyed the food that was served to us. However, considering that it was a Saturday evening, we were slightly surprised to find that there were literally only two other tables occupied and, long before we'd finished our meal, we were the only people still eating in there! As one or two other people have commented, the restaurant does perhaps lack much atmosphere, but we certainly wouldn't complain about the food or service. There was plenty of choice - and at reasonable prices, too. It may well be that Ashmores see most of their trade at lunchtimes but that seems to be a pity. If they could get a few more through the doors in the evenings to add a bit of 'buzz' to the atmosphere, it would certainly be worthy of that additional star rating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BinghamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently visited at lunchtime and once again could not fault a thing. We do not live locally but whenever are in the area always make a point of visiting this wonderful restaurant. Not only is the food first class but the staff and friendly and welcoming and provide a very good service. The only problem we have is deciding on which delight to pick from the menu! All in all a perfect place for a meal.

One added comment - whenever we eat in restaurants this is the one by which we judge the others - do they come up to Ashmore's standard? And many do not. First class in every respect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonian172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a lovely restaurant to have on your doorstep. We ate here on a Saturday evening whilst staying with friends and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, service was excellent as was the food and it was extremely good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank silverweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The food was perfect, amazing steak, im not a big fan of steak but tried my husbands and it was something I would have enjoyed for myself, vegetarian dish had loads of flavour. Everyone in party (of 8) was happy with their food.
Surroundings look a bit dated but its definately one of those places that concentrates on its food not fancy decoration, which is what you go and pay for and expect good quality.
Gave it 4 out of 5 for value only because it looks like a set price for 2 or 3 courses but most of the dishes are available at an extra price. Still worth the money paid though.
Staff were very attentive.
I always thought it was a really posh place and its the first time i've been since living locally for 12 years as it was a celebration and the place was chosen by someone else but will definately go back and recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doughnut78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb food - excellent service - terrific value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Ashmores has been a favourite of ours for years and we've eaten there many times when visiting relatives and friends in the Nottingham area. It's a family-run affair, with three generations of the Ashmore family involved. I think this is a key reason for the outstandingly high level of service, which in turn has resulted in strong customer loyalty.

The main reason for visiting Ashmores, however, is the superb food. I'm not going to single out specific items from the menu, because everything I've ever had there has been top quality - meat, fish, vegetables, soup, desserts - all done to perfection and bursting with flavour.

The three course "Table d'hote" lunches are incredible value at £12.95, and there's plenty of choice, including daily specials. Dinner is also very reasonably priced.

The restaurant closes for 2 weeks every summer, when the Ashmores take their family holiday. A nice touch, as it confirms that the restaurant is a team effort by the whole family, and they'd rather close for a couple of weeks than allow standards to slip.

Very highly recommended indeed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ashmores also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Radcliffe on Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to ashmores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing