We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovley Stay and loveley weather”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 'Penrhyn'

'Penrhyn'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Penrhyn'
Large, well maintained gardens. Looking towards the East & Mill House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
'Penrhyn'
Large, well maintained gardens.
Looking towards the East & Mill House
The bungalow with its Southerly facing Sun Lounge
Sun Lounge
Dining Kitchen
Dining Area
Lounge
Lounge
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Ample Parking
View to the North
View to the North
View to South West
View to South
Southern aspect
Southern elevation
Penrhyn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tourist51...
1 review
“Lovley Stay and loveley weather”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We enjoyed very much the stay in this cottage. Absolute comfortable beds, kitchen well equipped. The landlord has been very helpful, we could even borrow the BBQ for one evening. Spacious garden, 3 Pubs nearby, parking space even enough for 2 cars. Beside the fantastic weather, we enjoyed beeing very close to Nottingham and shopping centers there. We would definitely book here again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirwantd2...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really excellent cottage”
Reviewed July 28, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is a really excellent cottage. Jane/Tom and family were very friendly, and gave us some excellent advice on where to bring our kids (13 and 10).

The location is ideal. The village is a lovely quiet village, and is close to large supermarket (4 -ish miles, about 15 minutes drive), with smaller supermarkets much closer. Nottingham city centre car parks are about a 20 minute drive away.

The cottage layout is amazing. The bedrooms are away from the kitchen and TV rooms.

All in all, highly recommended, and thanks to Jane and Tom for a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice bungalow”
Reviewed July 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lambley is a delightful little village, we only ate at one of the pubs which we found to be very expensive for what it was. The bungalow is lovely and in a lovely position, however it does have close neighbours. The only thing that spoilt it for us was the beds, they are very, very hard and uncomfortable, the double bed also creeks every time one of you turns over, so we didn’t sleep very well. For us a good nights sleep is one of the most important parts of any holiday, if you haven’t slept well you can’t enjoy your day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2018
Hello Jose
Thanks for the review. Sorry that you found the beds not to your liking. I bought new mattresses as soon as I read the review. You should have told me when you stayed. If you come again, I will give you a fair discount. Regards. Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfealex...
Leven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty bedding, no CO alarm, few towels tatty in places, electricity problems.”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

The owner was surrounded by a cloud of tobacco smoke so we could not hold a conversation with him, we booked a no smoking property. We arrived late so had little time to check the property before going to bed.

We found two towels including the tea towel for a cottage that sleeps 4, dirty and stained bed clothes and duvet that had clearly not been cleaned after the last let. No carbon monoxide monitor to go with the gas boiler which we thought was a legal requirement. Turning on the shower made the lights dim, as did turning on any appliance. TV very hard to make work. No instructions left for any appliances apart from a typed guide to the TV. Hooks half hanging off doors, misted double glazing etc.

We asked the owners if there was room for a van to park which there was, what he failed to tell us is that the narrow farm track the cottage was positioned on was too narrow for the van which ended up scraping its paintwork.

The cottage is in a beautiful location in the Nottinghamshire countryside and could be made into an idilic holiday home if managed properly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2018
Thank you for the review but I think that it is totally unfair and, frankly, wrong. The beds are, of course, changed and linen laundered on each changeover. The lane is wide enough to get a dustbin lorry down and any competent van driver should have no problem. The gas & electric appliances are checked annually by a Registered contractor. It is quite clear on TripAdvisor what is and what is not included. Bath towels can be made available on request. There is no legal requirement to provide a carbon monoxide detector in a dwelling unless there is a solid fuel burning appliance and there is no such appliance in this bungalow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petershef...
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice village spot in North Nottinghamshire”
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Toms bungalow was perfect for a base to explore North and East Notts with great views from a hilltop in this lovely village.
There was all we needed in the bungalow for a small family self catering holiday... we loved it!
Below Tom’s house with a beautiful Rainbow over it :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petershef...
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Country Village Bungalow”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A small home from home :-) ideal for families with kids who want to explore the Nottinghamshire area. All you need!
Private and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Well equipped lodging set in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely quiet location on top of a hill with great views of the countryside. Transportation is required though as shops are not close by, restaurant at the bottom of the hill walking distance but may be difficult for older people. Well equipped lodging set in a peaceful location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing