We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”
Review of The Cross keys

The Cross keys
Ranked #159 of 1,414 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had my birthday meal here back in January. There were 16 of us and everyone commented on how lovely their food was. We had the room upstairs all to ourselves and it was waiter service for the bar. We were allowed use of the music system to play music of my choice, the staff were very friendly and all in all it was a lovely birthday, will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scroobs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    76
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stopped in while visiting our daughter who is at University in Nottingham. Great home made burgers, wedges and main meals get a free drink.... What more could you want?
Staff we're friendly and happy to bring over drinks. Would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great pub with a mad nanna's room to rent”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Cross Keys is a fabulous old fashioned pub with great real ales. The staff are friendly and the pub has a real mix of age groups within its clientele which helps create a lively but safe atmosphere. The food is creative for pub-grub with good choice. However, all of this is nothing to the hidden gem that's lies upstairs, there is a room for hire that can only be described as visiting your mad nanna's house with a massive flat screen playing sky sports.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thursday in January”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere on a cold Thursday in Jan and stumbled across this place. Busy but not crowded we were sat down and the service, beer and food were superb. Everywhere else was either dead or cold so this was a real find.
We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBigissue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly traditional local”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've visited the Cross Keys a few times now, its one of my locals to home. What I like about it is that it represents what good traditional pub is about and gives a taste of Nottingham's history in how it presents itself. Most importantly they offer real nice traditional ales, the staff are friendly and the Sunday Roast they offer is real nice. If you are feeling like a lunch snack to keep you going I recommend their omelettes too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross keys also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Cross keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing