We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Edge”
Review of The Waters Edge

The Waters Edge
Ranked #1,028 of 1,421 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: post code NG7 1GX Tel. 0115 9411175
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“On the Edge”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a family meal. Its a hungry horse - place was busy , lots of tables waiting to be cleaned, lots of people at the bar - only trouble was not enough staff. We sat down asked for the table to be cleaned, ordered and within minutes the food was out - ping ! Large plates but the food was spread out to make it look full. The staff were all friendly just overstretched - not sure how they cope if it was full. If I was a student 4 sunday roasts plus drinks for under £38 - bargain , only thing you get what you pay for. Quick eatery ,budget price basic decor . Worth one trip , but not a second unless its only for drinks and tv footie with the lads.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daldare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    58
    42
    49
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good social place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Enjoyed my first visit here. was very impressed with t.v's in the booths. had fish and chips with the 2 for £8 deal. mushy peas were cold. coffee was nice. no other faults. would come back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hungry as a horse”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Ok so if you want good food, this is not the place for you, the food at best is mediocre but when you consider the price it's what you would expect. The service I received was excellent, including the repayment of a £1 miss spent by my 6 year old guest who didn't check to see if there were any toys in the box before committing her money. The welcome was friendly and the service quick but it was very early and the pub wasn't that busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoda19682002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Exactly as you'd expect”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It is a hungry horse restaurant so don't go expecting gourmet food and silver service. This pub serves "cheap" food from a menu set by their corporate head office. Admitedly there is very little they could do wrong, but they do do very well.

The food is good value and has always been pretty tasty. I can't comment on service as they simply bring the food to you but they staff have always been friendly and helpful.

4 star rating for being exactly as I would expect, cheap & cheerfull. You get good, filling food without being ripped off.

They have a beer garden looking onto the river, looks like it could be a nice place to sit outside on a hot summers day.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A-Nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A cheap and nasty place to visit and eat.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A cheap and nasty place to visit and eat. Of course you get what you pay for and at 2 Sunday lunches for £10, I didn't expect much – at the time we were hungry and it was there. The service is slow and staff happily ignore people at the bar. If you want service with a smile, then this is not the place. The inside is dirty (as is the outside), the tables rarely cleared or wiped down after customers have left and the music when we were in was from a CD that had probably been stuck in the machine since the late 90s and never been removed. Hardly atmospheric. The food is the classic re-heated rubbish that often plagues this type of place, with dried veg, hard Yorkshire puddings, rock-like potatoes and cold gravy. I must say though, that the meat was, surprisingly, alright. The whole place has an air of "couldn't care less" about it and I would fiercly recommend against visiting, try somewhere else – even for cheap grub, there are better places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waters Edge also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Ilkeston, Derbyshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
West Bridgford, Nottingham
 

Been to The Waters Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing