We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable meal all round” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Staunton Arms

The Staunton Arms
Ranked #127 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Staunton Arms Country Freehouse - Re-opened in September, 2010. Listed pub delivering freshly prepared dishes every lunchtime and evening as well as a great cup of coffee. Hand picked cask ales from local and regional brewers.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Took in both Lunch and Dinner hear. Excellent food and service with no complaints. Good value as you certainly get what you pay for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank citywest19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonArms, Manager at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    39
    4
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good beer and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went here with my parents in law and family friends. Beer was excellent, lovely pub in a beautiful village. Mains were good we had pie, ribs lamb and steak. The spotted dick pudding was average and didn't appear to be freshly made. Would return in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We found this place when on a cycle ride, and what a gem!
The pleasant garden and relaxed atmosphere as our son enjoyed the fresh air was enhanced by a yummy platter of home cooked ham, cheese, bread, pickles and salad - and a superb basket of chips. Being a lover of food, I took a look at the menu, and discreetly glanced at the faces and plates of other more formal diners, and yes - I can safely say we'll be back.
The staff were incredibly friendly, the decor rustic yet stylish, and the food excellent quality - and even though it was only a relatively short visit, it was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molches73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonArms, Owner at The Staunton Arms, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable afternoon and appreciate the wonderful comments. The Staunton arms is a child friendly pub that has a play area and climbing frame situated in the garden to the side of the pub, we also offer a children’s menu. All food is served daily from 12pm till 9pm. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spare Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a very good lunch - Smoked Salmon Starter followed by Spare Ribs. Very good and filling food and reasonably priced - super friendly staff. Oh! the beer was very good and again reasonably priced. Would I go again - certainly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, will return for more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We called into the Staunton Arms for a drink and ended up having a snack. Very hospitable landlady. The place has a really warm atmosphere. We shall be back for a full meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAlbatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Staunton Arms also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Staunton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing