We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Aside from the obvious (in desperate need of an update/renovation) this place is lovely. So much character, you can imagine the Downton Abbey type lifestyle that went on here once upon a time. Only gripe I had was the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly, with (to be blunt) 'skid marks' left in the bowl. We didn't mention it as we had arrived late and had already had problems with the second room that been booked and paid for but was mistakenly not on their books. However, despite being fully booked, they took full responsibility and managed to upgrade this room to one with a lovely four poster bed.
Other than the cleaning issue, no complaints and a lovely stay! Look forward to going back when it's been done up, (I hope in keeping with the character of the property). Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank VettieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

Went to a friends wedding here, I have to say that the Chapel & surroundings are quite beautiful, can't fault the food, service excellent too.

The only chink in the armour are the rooms, though spacious (we had a family room), they do feel quite tired, and certainly be prepared for exceedingly low water pressure from the shower (you'd get wetter from a dog shaking itself). Certainly they are expensive for what you get.

That aside, the place is lovely, especially if you have nice weather.

Would I stay there again? Only if I had a very large discount, otherwise it would be cheaper to use a travel inn & pay for a taxi to enjoy the loveliness of the venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is our second stay with the Best Western Bestwood Lodge and again, it did not disappoint! If you're looking for a luxurious, modern hotel stay, this is not your hotel. However, if you're in for a unique, charming, one-of-a-kind experience book a stay at the Bestwood Lodge! While the furnishings and carpeting are dated, the beautiful historic building, lovely wood paneling, detailed doorways and stunning grounds more than make up for the rest. Internet was fast and reliable, bathrooms were very clean and updated fixtures and beds were comfortable. Free on-site parking and a fantastic breakfast are also advantages. We enjoyed a cold beer in the gorgeous bar and chatted with friendly hotel staff. Every brass door plate was polished and we felt well taken care of at the Bestwood Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here on 24th Feb prior to a stay at the BMI park hospital the next day. The place is really interesting, full of history. The grounds are really nice. People of Nottingham and hotel staff lovely. Also great food, Room was fine, a basic twin. My only quibble the water was cold in my very early morning shower which was six am. I'd love to come back and spend more time here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megstrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank karenhW536AG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited the hotel, my wife and I, as we were visiting family. We moved down south in 2001 and haven't been up recently. We booked Bestwood Lodge as we stayed here many years ago following a family wedding...which was great then!

The only time we revisited was last March for a meal, however was very disappointed!

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly face on reception, we checked in early and were helped with our bags...great service! We got to our room, which was standard but very clean and tidy. Yes, agreed it was very tired, but in a weird way this added to the beauty. It would cost a fortune to update all the bedrooms!!!

We decided to try the restaurant again, and wow...what an improvement. The service, the décor, everything about our meal was perfect. The food was brilliant and the staff were very attentive, very helpful and very knowledgeable about the building. Steven, the manager that night (who was also the receptionist when we checked in) was superb! Definitely a talented young man with a great career ahead. He was so attentive, and you could truly see he cared immensely about the hotel and making improvements...from what we could see he ran a very tight ship...he did his rounds throughout our stay, meeting guests and ensuring staff were doing what they should be...brilliant manager - hold onto him.

The same can be said for the other staff, especially Wendy in Breakfast - she was the most bubbly and excitable person I have ever seen in a hotel - a brilliant wake up call!!! It's clear she loves her job.

Credit goes to the chef - great food, tasty and plenty.

On check out, we were asked all the usual questions 'How was your stay?' etc etc, and answered appropriately. It was the personal touches that were brilliant. Wendy wished us a safe journey home and Steven thanked us for visiting, asked if we needed help with our bags and genuinely we felt like our custom was valued.

Thank you Bestwood Lodge...major improvements since our last visit - and looking forward to staying again and seeing the hotel thrive even more than before. Big thanks to staff. Thanks to Steven for giving us a tour before we left, as we mentioned renewing our vows and looking for a venue for our Christmas do. True sales man...very interested - will pick up a brochure soon...definitely return for Christmas!

100% recommended

Room Tip: Definitely recommended - try the restaurant - ask for a tour - the Chapel is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Address: Bestwood Country Park, Nottingham NG5 8NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bestwood Hotel Nottingham
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing