We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'Curate's Egg' hotel...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
West Riding, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A 'Curate's Egg' hotel...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

...good in parts. It is about 30 years since this hotel was last visited, but having stayed a night recently it is now clear why it gets such widely divergent reviews. Originally one of the 190 hotels in the Queens Moat Houses portfolio (a company which collapsed controversially in 1993) it is now one of a rump of 18 owned by Goldman Sachs but run as a franchise by the Intercontinental Hotel Group. Many of the original QMH hotels had somewhat grandiose public areas but rather less refined bedroom accommodation, a pattern which is repeated here. However, it would seem that neither the owners or IHG have indulged in alterations or upgrading over the years - the original ambience is preserved!
First the good points. The staff we encountered appeared universally cheerful friendly and chatty, even the room maids who had to operate out of rather cramped and stuffy corridors. The food on offer for dinner was well cooked, hot and nicely served. Service was reasonably quick but there were few in the restaurant. Breakfast offered a really good choice of just about everything one would expect but it was noted that by the time we left at 8.40 the porridge pot was empty as were most of the fruit bowls and were not showing signs of replenishment.
Now for the not so good points. Staff training and technology seems a bit 'hit and miss'. On arrival we were warmly welcomed as club IHG members but until it was pointed out, the receptionist had no knowledge of our DBB, booking a situation which also applied to the restaurant staff. The worst point is, bedroom windows are hermetically sealed so ventilation, along with heating and cooling, depends entirely on the air conditioning. Quite simply, ours did not work properly resulting in a hot stuffy atmosphere (even with the control set at 15C) and in addition emitted loud rattles and bangs from the vents. Unfortunately we arrived back in our room too late to sort the matter out so had a very disturbed night.
This is potentially a very nice, convenient hotel but has serious problems that need sorting.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioning is working properly and check it carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Ibadan,

Many thanks for your recent review.

My apologies that your air conditioning did not operate efficiently in your room which disturbed your nights sleep.

It was great however to read your kind comments regarding the friendliness of all team members you came into contact with and that you had a great dinner and breakfast experience. Your comments will mean a lot to the team so rest assured I will pass them on.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    500
    327
    159
    101
See reviews for
138
494
61
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Crown Plaza Nottingham,
Perfectly placed hotel for visiting Nottingham for attractions and great city centre.

Comfortable hotel at reasonable rates.
Great choice of bars, restaurants and night clubs within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear KenyaMarlin,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your, as ever I will make sure I share your review with the team.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

As a city centre hotel, this definitely delivers. No, it does not ooze character or boutiquey nonsense but it provides good food, a comfortable and spotlessly clean room and welcoming efficient staff. Its a two minute walk from the city centre and has excellent adjacent parking. Menu is unpretentious but delivers all that a travelling person needs. Very good all round.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigersTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear TigersTog,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you enjoyed our food and found the team welcoming and efficient.

As ever I will ensure that I share your kind words with the team.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel may be centrally located but it is still hard to find. The reception staff were very unhelpful when there was a mix-up over the booking and the room was very small with absolutely no view, dirty and in need of refurbishment generally. The air-conditioning was noisy. The hotel is nowhere near as good as less expensive options very nearby and easier to get to by car.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Laurence S S,


Thank you for your review. It is clear from your comments that unfortunately you did not enjoy your stay for which I am very about.

I do hope that you brought your dissatisfaction of your stay to our attention so that we could look into and resolve straight away whilst you were at the hotel.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights room was a standard double. We thought it was small and the bathroom was very small. The toiletries were replenished daily and the shower was excellent - loads of hot water and a flexible shower hose. The breakfast was fantastic. The first morning was a hot buffet, loads of fresh prepared fruit,breads,croissants,cold meats, smoked salmon/mackerel, cereals and porridge. The second morning the cooked breakfast was made to order. The service was excellent. The staff on the reception desk were very helpful. Our only complaint was we were woken at 4 in the morning by another guest knocking on our door along with several other doors on our floor, unaware of which room she was in due to her drunken state. This incident was not the hotels fault but observation of guests may be beneficial to prevent disturbance of this nature re-occurring. Location is very central.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCrownePlaza, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear marian c

Thank you so much for your kind recent review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food and the team to be of a good standard.

I am sorry that you were disturbed during the night.

We hope to see you back at the Crowne Plaza Nottingham again very soon.

Kindest regards

David Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked this hotel, as I needed to spend a night in Nottingham. The hotel is very well placed and there is plenty of parking nearby (£8 per day via the hotel). We had a nice sized room, that was clean and had all the normal features. Despite a large event at the hotel the service from the staff was first class they where always very helpful and friendly. I got a good rate booking direct with the hotels, so I will certainly be back. Don't be put off by comments about the décor. the place is certainly not in mint condition, but it is in very good shape and clean throughout.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCrownePlaza, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear TRC2

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel team to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kindest regards

David Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Terrible experience with going here! Me and my hen party came for a hen party spa day. The service was terrible the lack of customer service the staff were rude. The worst thing is we were just left in room on our own and told leave when your ready. The tv didn't work the games and the room were empty. The treatments were rushed we only got a max of 15 mins when should of been half and hour! I am beauty therapist and I was disgusted in the way they treated us. I will never recommend them to any one. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeannbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCrownePlaza, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Leeannbella

Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry that you were disappointed.

Urban Rooms are a separate business and simply hire the room from Crowne Plaza.

I understand that Urban Rooms will be in touch with you directly as the Crowne Plaza Nottingham are not responsible in any way.

Kind regards

David Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.3 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing