We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here with 24 friends for weekend hen party. Generally very good service all round. The staff were all very friendly and helpful (bar one receptionist who was little rude unfortunately). The location was within walking distance of all the bars, restaurants and shops, (so very handy), and the hotel has lots of great lounge areas where people can meet up to chat and drink . The weekend was very good value with good spa facilities and nice comfy rooms.

The only disappointment was that not all of our rooms were ready on time so meant we had to shuffle our schedule a little bit but it all worked out in the end.

A lot of people got lost trying to find it so would recommend getting here by train/taxi or having a very detailed map of the one-way system!

Overall a great hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smd4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Smd4242,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was really pleasing to read that you all enjoyed your stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful as this is something we pride ourselves on.

It was disappointing however to read your comments regarding one team member and that your rooms were not ready at the same time. I can assure you I will pick up these comments with the relevant managers.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope the wedding is a truly magical day and wish the bride and groom a prosperous future.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    531
    341
    159
    102
See reviews for
147
530
64
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

WE weren't overly impressed with Nottingham itself, but found the Crowne Plaza an excellent choice. Being on the Executive floor, we access to the executive lounge for pre-dinner drinks and continental breakfast, which was very handy. Staff were very friendly and obliging, and room was very comfortable. I particularly appreciated the little aromatherapy pack to help with a restful sleep! One of our best stays on our tour of the UK.

Room Tip: Take a room on the Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Merrilyn s,

Thank you for your recent review and what a great review it is. It is so pleasing to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you found the team to be very friendly.

Your comments mean a lot to us and rest assured I will share your review with the team.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for our rugby club ball which was being held in the function room. I was a little worried upon reading some of the reviews but I don't see what the problems were. Upon checking in the receptionist was friendly helpful and efficient, and the room was lovely. The bathrobes, water bottles, chocs and aromatherapy sprays were a nice touch. Yes the room was a little small and the air con took us a little while to figure out how to work but not major problems. Bed was comfy and room very quiet both nights. The function was lovely (although drink prices a little steep.. My friend was charged over 8 quid for a double amaretto and coke!) and when we came in at 4am and asked the night staff for a late checkout the next day they were very obliging and offered us a 2pm checkout at no extra cost which I thought was excellent. We got a really good rate and enjoyed our stay. This was a special treat for a once a year event and would not hesitate to stay again :) worth every penny. Would like to thank all hotel staff who made our event run smoothly and the staff that were so helpful to us during our stay :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesnaughtynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear leesnaughtynurse,

Thank you for your recent review and what a great review it was. It was so pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and in particular the Ball that you attended.

Your comments will mean a lot to the teams you have mentioned so rest assured I will make sure that your kind words are passed on.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wanted somewhere close to the city center for shopping plus a Spa so this ticked all the boxes! have stayed here before and so upgraded to a superior room for more space (standard room last time v small!)
Annoyed that you have to pay for WiFi connection in room but when I mentioned this on checking out was told I could have asked for an hour's complimentary WiFi (so you just need to ask at reception for a code!)
Also annoyed that they overlooked that the room was for a special occasion - other hotels have left fruit baskets etc when I have mentioned this!
Breakfast included but poor service and food was a little dried up on the hot plates!
Spa was lovely but no one on reception there when we arrived to give us towels, then when someone did arrive we were told we had to pay to use them! - We didnt in the end!!
All in all ok for one night, close to shops and restaurants but pricey for a longer stay!

Room Tip: ask for a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadcastertwo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Tadcastertwo_10,

Many thanks for your recent review.

My apologies that we did not pick up that you were staying for a special occasion, if this is marked on the booking this is something we are usually very good at.

I will also make sure that I pick up your comments regarding service at breakfast.


Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed over the Easter weekend with a coach party of fifty people. In many hotels this type of group are segregated from the other guests, but here we were made very welcome. The hotel is very centrally situated and is within walking distance of all the main attractions. The bedrooms are on the small size, but comfortably furnished and the food better than that often served on coach trips. The staff were friendly and helpful, but mostly inexperienced.

Room Tip: As there is a night club in the vicinity ask for a quiet room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Thurio,

Thank you so much for you review and in particular your kind comments regarding the food quality and also the friendliness of the team.

I will of course make sure I share your review as it will mean a lot to the team.

Once again thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting for a concert at Rock City (which is right behind the hotel!) We were checked in quickly, however the girl on reception seemed to be disapproving that we, two 18 year olds, were checking into an Executive room on the 8th floor with access to the club lounge. The room was well laid out and seemed clean and well equipped (however it seems odd that they had gone to the extent and expense of installing a Samsung Smart TV (internet enabled) without any internet connection which deemed most of the features unusable...) The bathroom was clean, however the shower was lacking in water pressure and the shower curtain was starting to get a little mouldy. Room service was delivered quickly and was passable, yet even after a call to let staff know that we had finished and the tray was outside our door we were surprised to find it still there 5 hours later when we returned from the concert. Breakfast is where there was big downfall in my eyes, it was served in the Club Lounge between 6am and 9:30, so a lie in was not an option! We arrived for breakfast at 9:00am and by this time there were only a few anaemic looking bread rolls and horrendous tasting croissants remaining, along with a few boxes of cereal. Also there were no mugs for coffee, my morning staple!
All in all, I would return to this hotel if I was ever visiting for a Concert again due to its proximity to Rock City but I would probably not stay in a King Room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear X and K,

Many thanks for your recent review and I trust you enjoyed the gig at Rock City. My apologies that you felt the receptionist was not friendly upon check in and also that the club lounge breakfast was not up to the usual high standards.

I can assure you that I will pick up your review with the relevant departments.

Once again my apologies and thank you for taking the time in placing your review

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Handy for city centre. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable although a little tired! The rooms could do with a refurb...shower over bath. No wi-fi which is no good as pay rates are not great. Food in bar has improved greatly with good selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Avril S,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was good to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and most importantly that you found the found in the bar improved upon your last visit. I will certainly make sure I share your comments with the teams concerned.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 49 in Nottingham
1,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing