We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed October 24, 2009

we stayed in the hotel last week,have to say the worst hotel ive ever stayed in,rooms were so noisy,heating on nearly all the time,felt like we were trying to sleep on the motorway,hense no sleep,hotel was plain grubby,breakfast was just tolerable,this is a dinosaur hotel from the seventies,dirty,smelly,didnt want to return there at the end of the day but if we hadnt paid upfront would have checked out before staying

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sligoshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,190 - 1,196 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

to start off with got to the hotel looked at the outside and it didn't look at all welcoming, got to the room and it was supposed to be an executive room which clearly wasn't we got a room that had one window that was slanted open in other words broken and wouldn't shut! the carpet looked old and tatty, the bed sheet had a stain on and had rips in, the bathroom wasn't overly clean found hairs in the bath, the chairs looked old and it was a dull and lifeless looking room not worth its money I'd advice anyone to pay that bit more and go to the park plaza across the road as when I stopped before it was top quality well worth its money and it was only a three star then and it was perfect now its a four star and well worth stopping in. i'd say its false advertising on there website as it looks all perfect when it really isn't and needs doing up.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheek_vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

A normal city centre hotel decidedly average with nothing particularly giving it extra stars, but nothing worthing complaing about. Room was functional, a bit dated and not of bright decor but was fit for purpose. Location is good for accessing the City Centre. Ate breakfast and it was average for a UK hotel with the normal selection of hot and cold seledtions. Shower was above average. Reception appeared unwelcoming and while staff were not rude they were disinterested and not particularly helpful.
I wouldn't not stay here again, but there must be far better hotels than this in Nottingham.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesters_Tear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

stayed in this hotel for price and location - have nothing to complain about with this hotel - good hotel, would have not hesitation to stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polievka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed in this hotel quite a few times because I had to find somewhere cheap to stay for a few days before moving in/out of the university halls. I mainly chose the hotel because of the location, price and because of free wireless internet in the room. The location was great, 5mins away from Broadmarsh shopping center, 10mins walk from the train station. I paid approximately GBP39/night.

The rooms were small, old and worn out. The desk were small and doesnt look too clean. The bathroom was alright but the door handle of the bathroom was broken. The TV were the old type of TV therefore not much choice of channels. The beds were small. Carpets were worn out and dirty, didnt feel like walking barefeet on it.

Overall, if your looking for a cheap hotel to stay in for a day or two and mainly want a city center location, it isnt that bad of a choice. Just don't expect too much from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bressybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

when you walk in you expect cleanliness in the front reception the lift smelt of urine. when we got to our floor the capet was stuck together with black tape. it looks and feels like a hostel even worse. when we got to our rooms we were shocked at the state of them. torn seats dirty cups and old milk expired biscuits. the dust was unbelievable, the ironing table had been ripped of the wall and no-one bothered to fix or sweep off the wood chips on the floor. the bed felt lumpy and uncomfortable tv didnt work and the bath room is the dirtiest, with black grim on the wall. i could hear my friends in the next room. and when i tried to use the elivator that didnt workk too (anymore) it worked when we came up but not going down had to use the stairs from the 7 floor. CLEARLEY THE WORST PLACE I HAVE STAYED IN MY LIFE!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dontheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We arrived at this hotel after finding out that you have to pay for parking £9.50 for 12 hours!!! We called the reception as the car park is not well sign posted and was not alot of help at all. When we arrived we had seen all the photos on the web which makes this hotel look stunning, please do not let them fool you. When we arrive to our room, the floor had not been hovered the cups had not been cleaned neither had the sheets. The only good thing was the manager that we liaised with after we left the hotel to find other accomodation, we did not stay in this hotel as it was filthy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babbs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $44 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing