We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Well if you are looking for quality this place does not have any, but to be fair the basic nature of things was not in fact as bad as some might say. We rated this as average because the staff were friendly and the bed was very comfortable. On the down side wifi was not working, the parking was extortionate and the over-all feel was of a hotel in need of modernisation. All told not terrible and not great

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlc12karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I booked a deal via groupon one night stay for two people to include breakfast, evening meal and bottle of sparkling wine in room in arrival. I bought two groupons to extend my stay and so had two meals/breakfast and wine included. When booking I asked for twin room as it was a gift to my disabled mother.. The pictures on the groupon looked lovely and had nice things said. Upon arriving, I was horrified to see a high rise shabby hotel on the main road, not what the photos had in the advert that I purchased from.. Anyway, having travelled all that way thought it would be ok but then found no on site parking, had to find car park and walk down lots of stairs with my disabled mum and suitcases to then get to the hotel. Reception wa dark and dingy and had people walking in off the street using the w.c facilities.. Receptionist took a long time on phone before seeing to me. Provided my reservation number and they confirmed I only had one night booked.. Provided evidence that I had paid for two in which she was a little annoyed that I was annoyed at this stage. Was give a twin room on 5th floor.. Not good with a disabled person in tow but there was a lift so didn't question it. No mention of dinner reservation that was included or any information on breakfast etc just handed the room keys. Walking through the corridor I knew i wasn't going to enjoy my stay by the state of the carpet and decor which wa just minging!! Opened the door to our room and found the most disgusting room ever!! It wasn't even 1 star in my opinion.. A homeless person would have turned this room down.. There was a bad smell, stains all over the chairs and carpet, bathroom was filthy and toilet didn't flush properly, mini bar was screwed shut, window handles falling off but the view out the window was of the car park.. Water all over the bathroom floor, tv didn't work, lampshades broken.. JUST GROSS!! My poor mum sat and cried it was that disgusting!! I decided that we wouldn't stay and walked back to receptionsit and handes her the room keys back and said I wasn't staying there and got a reply of "ok" no questioning of what was wrong no trying to out right the situation just no customer service at all whatso ever!! Complained to groupon and got my money refunded but still lost out on my parking charge which was £6 for and hour and half!! Petrol cost and train tickets.. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!! Not even for a drunken night out with the lads/girls.. Unless you want to get bitten by fleas then maybe this hotel would be for you but unwound recommend to steer clear!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M155RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel before, again I found this hotel to be ideally situated close to the centre of Nottingham, the car parking is NCP but the hotel gave a concession for our 3 day visit, it was ideally situated as it was just across a walk way which led into the rear of the hotel (through the bar area) and there was a lift taking one down one level to the Reception. The booking in process was very swift and we had a good room over looking the centre. Although the hotel does need updating it has a good location within the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briancrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

just returned from above hotel mystery trip with national nice clean room and bathroom extra pillows if needed. television very old and difficult to work needs up dating asked at reception if they had any flavoured teas we were told no ..went for our evening meal guess what a whole box of different teas . good meal nice and hot self service . no cheese available just biscuits .went to the bar for 2 glasses of wine barman suggested we had a bottle it was very good and only 7 pounds he even carried to the restaurant for us .good value for money staff very nice except reception it seemed it was to much trouble .talking amongst themselves.

Room Tip: we had 103 over looking the car park lights running all night .but had nice shutters at the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ok well where to start got dropped off here for a 1 night stay as this was the chosen hotel for the mystery Xmas break we went on and well glad it was for only 1 night as there was only 1 lift working and it was a nightmare as there was over 10 floors and instead of going/stopping at the floor you selected it didn't from the bottom it would start and go to each floor and then when it finally reached the top it would go back down each one dropping off and due to amount of floors it took ages. The room depending on which one you was in wasn't for disabled I'm afraid as I have a fold up scooter that small and I had trouble getting into the room as it was narrow and bent round to get into it plus there was a large table outside the room don't know why making it even harder to get in. Plus room was very cold slept in clothes and coat as couldn't get heating working at all. Found hair on toilet seat as well but apart from two things mentioned with room rest of it was ok. Food is ok not brilliant as there isn't much choice and tea/coffee was cold as it was just on a table at the side to help yourself but as I say they was cold. Overall I wouldn't stop here again and I wouldn't of chosen it myself in the 1st place but best way I can describe it is it's a posh place done on the cheap very cheap that is if that makes sense and the pictures of the rooms are mis leading as its nothing like pictures make it look posh fancy loads of light etc and it's opposite but I suppose I can't complain as I paid £39 for a 2 day break even though I wasn't pleased to here some had paid £25 instead but that's not hotels fault. Only good thing about it was there was a mini tesco next to it and pubs across the road from it made it a bit noisy but it was ok not enough to keep you awake. Fridges in the room was empty and seem to be locked as no one could open them so I assume they was meant to be a mini bar and not meant to use yourself otherwise might of given it a better rating

Room Tip: Get a room not on road side close to pubs and if disabled get a room thats easily accessable as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popsey2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We paid £40 for evening meal, bed and breakfast. A day before getting there we received a call to say they could not provide an evening meal, so we would only be charged £25 for bed and breakfast.

The room was small but very clean, it had a tv and a bath/shower so was basic but what more can you expect for the money.

Breakfast was continental and you could order a cooked breakfast, both were very impressive. Would defiantly stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AaronCowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Some of theses reviews read quite bad but for a budget hotel it was ok clean bedding towels very large room breakfast was good and waiter was very friendly would go back for price we paid although the hotel is very tired it's ok lovely Indian restaurants near by fab for shopping great pubs

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mrjohnWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
1.0 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $38 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing