We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The only Good thing about this hotel is the location, absoluteley perfect 30 sec walking to the city center and in front of the skylink bus stop. From the outside it could appeal like a Good hotel but once you enter you will discover the truth: the hotel is very old, it needs to be remoderned there is no wifi in the rooms but the receptionist said THAT there was wifii in the lobby , in 5 days it worked only 1 day!!!! The room was horrible the carpet was full of terrible dirty spots the toilet was dirty and there are no towels!! On tv there were only 5 channels and most important the lady at the receptions had a very bad attitude. This is sure this hotel is in my black list

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulli1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews we were a tad apprehensive about the hotel, but heh the rooms were clean , beds very comfortable, food was excellent, well cooked, good quality produce and plenty of choice, the staff were all very friendly,helpful throughout our stay. Great location and lovely views from our 5th floor room across to the castle and cityscape.
We two Geordies would definitely not think twice about staying there again,
Lance and Sandra ,W/bay.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor as some lower floors mentioned noise from karaoke bar opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

four of us stayed at this hotel 24th to 26 sept after reading reviews we all thought about not going but glad we did room was fine food very pleasent staff more than helpful will recomend this hotel only down was room 312 is at front of hotel a nice room but there is a bit noise from pub across the road but could have been given another room if had been staying any longer all in all value for your money

Room Tip: if you dont like something go to desk and talk to staff they are very helpful higher floor l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Like other reviewers we stayed here as part of a 2 night mid week break with National Holidays. If it wasn,t for the fact that friends had been here before I would not have come due to the negative reviews. We travelled as a group of 4. 2 rooms- quite different to one another. Friends had asked for double room with fridge- they were on the 3rd floor overlooking entrance- this was quite modern with shutters on the inside of windows- to block out noise- they said it was noisey from the bar across from hotel till abot 2am, and this was mid week-so would be very noisey at weekends,but the room itself was comfortable and clean. Our room was on the 5th floor opposite side overlooking main road. If you had window open you could hear the traffic. Dont think air con worked but we didnt need it. Room was spotless clean and had a very powerfull hot shower. Food was of very good choice and you could have as much as you wanted being self service. Tea and coffee in room and a hair drier,find in draw, and trouser press. Extra pillows and blankets in wardrobe.Staff worked very hard and deserve more than the minimum wage they get. Great location.Would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room opposite side to entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is the first time staying in a city hotel. But its a good Base for the Peak District (Wow what a place)
I was a bit wary! But with the quality of the food being good & varied I was pleasantly surprised.
Room Basic with an odd flushing toilet.
Bar was 99p for Local drinks between 6 & 9 (Helps)
One bug bare the key cards were a pain my wife's worked but mine stopped after a couple of days.
This happened to quite a few of the guests.
Still for what we payed can't complain.

Room Tip: Try a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went with National Holidays for a short break and despite all the negative reviews we found the hotel very good value for money, our room although small was adequate and despite being on the 3rd floor was very quiet at night ( we went midweek so maybe we avoided the weekend revellers!).
The food was really good and unlike some of the moaners we actually prefer self service as you can have as much or little of what you like )
We did hear a few people having a go at the hotel as we always do on these holidays but all I can say is if you want 5 star luxury go stay in a 5 star hotel and pay for it !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hissyfitLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

the hotel was a little tired, the food was very nice and good value and the hospitality of the staff was excellent,
especially the bar staff Joe, Bobbie, Dean, Leon, and Steve the entertainer, who all went out of there way to provide a very enjoyable friendly experience.
Well done Lads,
Cheers Tim

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Timothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#16 of 41 in Nottingham
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
2,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $39 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing