We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went with National Holidays for a short break and despite all the negative reviews we found the hotel very good value for money, our room although small was adequate and despite being on the 3rd floor was very quiet at night ( we went midweek so maybe we avoided the weekend revellers!).
The food was really good and unlike some of the moaners we actually prefer self service as you can have as much or little of what you like )
We did hear a few people having a go at the hotel as we always do on these holidays but all I can say is if you want 5 star luxury go stay in a 5 star hotel and pay for it !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hissyfitLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    205
    272
    246
    422
See reviews for
118
394
99
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

the hotel was a little tired, the food was very nice and good value and the hospitality of the staff was excellent,
especially the bar staff Joe, Bobbie, Dean, Leon, and Steve the entertainer, who all went out of there way to provide a very enjoyable friendly experience.
Well done Lads,
Cheers Tim

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Timothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I had booked into a standard double room a few weeks in advance. On booking the room the lady on the phone asked if i had any specific requests, I explained to her that the reason I was staying the night was because I had an important exam early in the morning the next day. She was very understanding and said she would put a specific note in my reservation for a high floor and away from the road.

On arrival their were two employees standing at the desk chatting away as I stood at the desk they continued to chat away and it was only when the phone ran that I was acknowledged by one of them with a simple hand up as she answered and dealt with the person on the phone, the other employee simply walked off at this point. So I stood and waited for her to finish the call.

After she had finished with the call she checked me in and I headed for my room. My room was on the 4th floor of the building and was undesirable to say the least, to begin with my pleads for a quiet room had gone unnoticed or unheard as I was opposite the lift secondly I was overlooking the roof of the multistory car park which appeared to be a hang out for local drunks and what appeared to be a bar. I called down to the reception to find out if there was another room I could stay in and was informed the hotel was fully booked.The room itself was cleanish, with my only qualm being the cleanliness of the bathroom.

All through the night you could hear the loud music coming from the pub along with the traffic noise from the road. when the music eventually stopped at about 3am you were allowed to sleep for a short period of time until being awoken by the staff dumping the bottles into the bottle bins.

Definitely not a hotel I would suggest staying in if you wanted a good nights sleep. However the location could not be better just a stones throw away from the city centre (Market Square).

Room Tip: High floor, room with climate control, room away from entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andr1ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Dundee
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is good value for money. I booked an Executive room which I think was worth it. It's the equivalent to a good standard room.... I heard the standard rooms at the hotel are not so great.


The air conditioning didn't work in my room which sucked. You can open the windows slightly but there was no breeze.

It's very centrally located and attached to an NCP. Can be pricey but the hotel offers a discount of 9GBP for 24 hours.

I would use the hotel again as it served my purpose very well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side to hotel entrance as the Chambers bar downstairs is rowdy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here on a 4 night coach trip, a receptionist came on coach to give us our key cards so no queuing which was good. We were in what was described as an executive suite, the fridge/cooler didn't work, the air con didn't work we had to have the windows open as it was lovely weather but the traffic noise was horrendous, all night long as well. The carpets were filthy and the sofa looked as though someone had been sick on it. we reported the state of the sofa and someone was there within 10 mins, but didn't really have a solution except to turn the seating cushion over, which is what they did. Having said that the food was really good, and a good choice, with vegetarian choice as well, and the breakfast was excellent, the staff were all pleasant, but sadly it didn't make up for the shortcomings, so wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrpshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull. England
Level Contributor
269 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived as part of a coach party and stayed 2 nights.
The rooms are very dated. The valance on the bed looked as if it was made out of a sack it was brown and just hung off the bottom of the bed, I think a double had been put on a single bed.
There was no way to control the temperature of the room and during our stay it was very hot. The air conditioning went off at 11pm and came on at 7am. We had to leave our window open and unfortunately there was a bar across the road that was open until 2am and very noisy when the revellers were leaving.
We had real problems with our key card and it had to be re set.
When we arrived unfortunately 2 coaches arrived at the same time and there was only one woman on reception. I have to admit she did an amazing job booking everyone in in record time.
The hotel is perfectly placed if you want to explore Nottingham centre and is very close to the castle. The tram is very useful in getting around the city as well.
We had a 3 course buffet meal both nights with coffee also available and the quality was very good both nights. The breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Not one that overlooks the multi storey car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

terrible experience...hygiene was terrible...smelt ...sheets were threadbare and the bed ohh the bed was atrocious. I did not enjoy anything about this hotel, not the customer service, not the breakfast or facilities. I will definitely not go there again.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel ...it is fit to be torn down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Property: Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing