We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unceremoniously chucked-out ... before we checked in!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unceremoniously chucked-out ... before we checked in!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this place (and had my booking confirmed) some months before the opening Ashes Test Match as part of a special treat for my young son. Imagine my surprise when - the week before the game - I received a curt e-mail from the 'hotel' telling me they had overbooked and were relocating us to a place on the hard shoulder of the motorway between Nottingham and Derby. I was shocked but thought that, once I had explained the immense inconvenience that the relocation would cause my son and I, they would understand and re-consider. Not so! The 'manager's response to my anxious suggestion that the remoteness of the motorway hotel might lead to travel difficulties and subsequently jeopardise our enjoyment of a hugely anticipated special day was 'get a bus' !!
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and believe that 'peace of mind', in terms of reliability on the part of a hotel to honour it's commitment to a booking, is paramount to the satisfaction of the customer. If you feel the same - don't touch this place with a Nottingham Canal bargepole!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    207
    274
    246
    431
See reviews for
118
398
99
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tired, average staff, no room service, no bar, overall a typical poor english hotel. The room i had however was ok and given thats alli needed, fit for purpose. Ok for me but if i had been anaussie staying there a few nights for the ashes then i would not have been impressed

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staying here over the Ashes so paying over the odds for a room in this hotel which rubs salt in the wound really.

It's plus point is its very central, beyond that I can't think of anything nice to stay.

From the reception to the corridors to the rooms, it's very tired and grubby looking and in need of refurbishment, which could be countered by having nice, helpful staff, but unfortunately our experience is it doesn't. Came back from a long, hot day at the cricket to find our room not touched at all when we had spoken to the room maid on our way out about an extra towel. The receptionist didn't see it as worth apologising for as she had only just come on. Obviously she doesn't represent the hotel at all only herself and 'house-keeping had gone home'.

I know from previous visits there are a lot of three star hotels in Nottingham who make an effort and don't act like they've given up. Try them and don't bother with this one. Can't wait to leave.










Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catweazle63_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel back in January for my cousin to be close to us,staying at Park Plaza across the road.Two weeks ago we received an email stating they the type of room available and had moved her to Best Western in Nottingham,which ended up being a hotel 8 miles away...great to be close to family...extremely unhappy especially as a room and confirmed so far ahead..we understand the cricket is on but our booking should have been upheld...do not feel confident of your booking with this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Midreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked last minute on 'laterooms.com' and got this bargain hotel for £41 + £5 p/p for breakfast, the total stay came to £51. For the price the hotel is value for money.

However the room itself was somewhere to crash but not somewhere really to relax. Our 'double' room was two single beds pushed together with a gap in the middle. The double sheet which the maid had tried to put on did not fit over two single beds so was left half on half off. The bedding was not clean there was a stain on the sheet, fag burn in the sheet and a rip through the duvet cover. The walls were covered in dirty marks and hand prints and had a lot of odd stains up them. The headboard was broken, the desk chair was broken and the arm chair was filthy. Everything looked like it needed a good clean, the TV, Windows etc were all dirty. The bathroom was reasonably clean and had fresh towels etc.

The staff however were very polite we arrived early and was able to check in and go to our room straight away. The breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and good quality for the price. Staff at breakfast we're all polite, happy to help and friendly.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Nottingham there was plenty to do and the hotel was ok. I wouldn't be rushing back to stay again but if the hotel was the same price i would still stay here again.

Room Tip: We we're on floor 1 and was still quite so i don't think it matters where you are in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily_Rose93_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our annual summer holiday. Its location is central to the town and lots of shops and eating places to suit all. Finding the car park which is next to the hotel took a bit of time, a sign would have been handy. Our room was small, but was adequate. Check in was quick.
The initial supply of coffee and tea in the room was minimal, but the staff were happy to add to the two sets of tea/coffee that were provided. The breakfast was more than adequate, good quality and selection and a friendly service.
While we were happy with our stay, the hotel could do with a revamp as the furnishings and décor are dated.
We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Good for acces.s to town center and main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgray10059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were on a hen do (enough said!) so it really was just a place for us to crash and get changed in. I had seen the reviews on Trip Advisor so was dreading it a bit but actually it wasn't so bad. It was clean. The bathroom was definitely past its best as was the carpet in the bedroom but it is a budget hotel (or at least we booked ahead and got it cheap). We arrived early and were able to check in ahead of time, as well as leave our luggage behind the desk on Sunday. Can't say I'd be rushing back but it did the job.

Room Tip: Get a higher room, quieter I guess!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alielv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Property: Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing