We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for two nights with a National coach holiday and wasn't impressed. The room was ok and the bed comfortable but the food was so bad we decided to eat out on the second night. We didn't pay a lot for the holiday so i suppose we got what we paid for, the plus side is that its in the centre of the city and the cricket club and riverside is just a short bus ride away which is where we went on our day at leisure in the city.
The holiday its self was good and the driver first class.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleRob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is a bonus and it is right next door to the NCP car park (half price for guests). The rooms were ok but cold and everywhere smelt of stale smoke. Breakfast was good quality but service was not good - I didn't get tea/coffee until I had nearly finished and none of the staff seemed like they wanted to be there. With a little bit of TLC (a lick of paint and get rid of the smokey smell) and some staff training, this could be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner & I stayed here for 2 nights - 26/27 January. It was just a "lets go away somewhere" so we booked with National Holidays. Cost 90 quid for both of us (not each) and that was all in. We got our room key card from a very nice lady on reception. Took the lift (other lift wasn't working). Got to our room, very warm, so we opened the window. Since previous comments mentioned cleanliness issues, we checked everything. All was very satisfactory. Went to the bar, very helpful bar manager, who gave me directions to the shops I wanted to go to. Food was good. It's self serve on a heated servery, so you get exactly what you want. Everything was hot (maybe a bit dry, but that is to be expected). Friendly staff very busy bringing table water & making sure everyone was happy. A bit of a wait, but I can't see anything to complain about. We've paid a lot more money & got a lot worse. All the complaints on this must be from very irritating people who want to pay nothing & get everything. My partner who is very hard to please, was more than happy & we will be staying again.

Room Tip: our first time here & we were on the 4th floor. Can't really comment but our room was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazychris68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ok so it's a budget hotel I wasn't expecting much room wise, however just a clean room would have been nice I found pubic hairs in the shower swear words that had been rubbed into the mirror so became visible with steam. The girl on reception obviously didn't want to be there she wasn't rude just acted like she really couldn't be bothered.

But by far the biggest upset was the standard of breakfast it really was disgusting, please just use wearherspoons down the road half the price and actually edible.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwilso7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked three smoking rooms for one night. They were clean and bed comfortable. Not very modern but was fine for the £43 per night including breakfast. Dinner and breakfast were lovely and staff in reception, restaurant and bar were friendly and helpful. If you want a night away with luxury don't book it, but if you want somewhere close to the centre with good food at a reasonable rate then go for it here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patterson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked for the dinner,bed breakfast with a free bottle of wine for £55, room was ok clean and had everything we needed.
For the price we payed we wasnt expecting too much but the food really was terrible.
We had 3 courses in the evening, the main was chicken which looked and tasted very bland with frozen microwaved veg, it really wasnt very nice.
The breakfast was no better bacon leathery and eggs very rubbery, thank god there was some toast, the staff seem to just go through the motions.
All in all It was a cheep and cheerful night away near to lots of nightlife but not too noisy apart from some idiot who kept knocking on a door in the early hours but you can get that anywhere.
We wouldnt return I would sooner pay more and get nice food, or if I had known how bad the food was to find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamerLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in the Britannia Hotel Nottingham, as part of National Weekend Holiday, the room had layers of dust and bits of paper on the floor, and a carrier bag with half a bottle of water in it sticking out from under the bed, you could hear the traffic from the road as we were in the city centre. tea, coffee ok. we went for a shower which was great after removing hairs from the bath we went to use the extra pillows and found no pillow cases on them we asked for them to be exchanged as both were stained, one with blood. dinner was good and plentyfull, we then returned to our room. exclam we were woken at 3.00am swearing and shouting from corridor,
a group of boys had returned from the clubs tried to enter our room and pulled the handle off the door, half an hour later, some went out for more drink. this went on till 6.00am when i shouted at them, only to be called a .... Head etc. reported it to deputy manger, blamed me for not reporting it to reception, he said he would have thrown them out, then he told me he arrived at 6.00am how could he deal with it when he was not even in the hotel at 3.00 am talk about brick walls had a nice breakfast the whole hotel needs a vacume bits all over resturant corridors lounge floors
Would i go back again No I spoke to some of the staff, they said it was like it most weekends

Room Tip: dont think it is possible in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allanscarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
726 reviews
1 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#30 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $39 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing