We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay at this great hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice stay at this great hotel...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was only £3.20 in a taxi from Nottingham train station so not too far at all, probably around a 15min walk. Extremely close to the town centre so excellent location.
On arrival it looked very nice. Seating area in reception area was good. The girl who was on reception was very friendly, had me checked in within a few minutes and gave me all the info I needed to know about for my stay.
My room was a double. I found it to be very clean other than a musty smell in the wardrobe and the tiles in the bathroom in the bath/shower area were rather grubby. Not an upto date shower. Clean white towels provided. Fresh white linen, comfy bed. Decent lighting. Old style TV with channels 1-5 and a radio channel. Kettle, good hospitality tray. The view wasn't brilliant right outside the window, but overall you could see right across Nottingham which was lovely.
The evening meal and breakfast was amazing. Service was fab and the food gorgeous. Restaurant was a nice warm feel. The bar area is a laidback area, once again very warm feel to it.
The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. Room service fantastic too.
Although near the town centre it was a peaceful night, no disturbance at all - Friday night stay too!! So I was expecting it to be rowdy, not at all though.

I can't recommend this hotel enough, the pricing is excellent for the room and service you recieve.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misslovetobeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    211
    278
    254
    443
See reviews for
124
411
102
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for one night. The hotel definitely needs an uplift. We were on the ninth floor, in an ok room with an ok view.
The tap in the bathroom was loose, the shower worked but looked grubby and the bed seemed ancient - very soft and creaky.
There was loads of storage space for longer stays, but there is no way I would stay here for longer than one night.
The carpets in the corridors are badly worn, the staff will never win any prizes at charm school and the breakfast is very ordinary - orange squash, overcooked food and weak tea.
If you want somewhere cheap and well situated, maybe for a stag do or a hen night, this will suit you fine.
If you want somewhere nice and relaxing for a few days break, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Paid £29 per room including breakfast. This used to be a Holiday Inn hotel and whilst it is a little bit tired it really is superb value.
It's a large hotel on 9 floors and is situated about 5 minutes from the main square, canal and station. It is next to a busy road and you can hear some traffic and revelry from local pubs but not enough to worry about.
Fabulous views of the whole city from my room on 7th floor.
Rooms were very good and clean with good bathrooms.
Buffet style breakfast with good choice of options.
I would choose this over Travelodge as quality is similar or a bit better but it is cheaper.
Recommended if you want a reasonable hotel with superb value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheltenhamGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good basic/mid level hotel, my room was clean and spacious, as was the bathroom. The staff were helpful and there was plenty of information about the hotel and city around. For what you pay you seriously get your monies worth. The breakfast was self service, which for somebody like me, is perfect, well cooked and plentiful - good set up for the day. The hotel is situated within a couple of minutes walk of the centre of Nottingham and close to the railway station.

Really would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit this city. I really found nothing to fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB1234Tewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a real late bargain, £40 including breakfast midweek for one night. I paid for a single and got a decent sized double, with good bathroom, plenty of pillows and towels( all clean and very white, which always goes down well with me) the usual irritation of Lilliputian cups was mitigated slightly by plenty of tea bags and little milk cartons..its so unusual not to have to ask for more.

The location couldn't have been more central, and right next to the castle, sadly no time for sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I met clients in the large airy foyer for a 2 hour meeting and no one objected and they helpfully adjusted the router when my wifi connection went down.

I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, however. It is held in the rather dingy restaurant and there appeared to be quite a few business travellers with small cases and we were asked to ;eave these (quite unobtrusive) bags outside the restaurant, only to see a couple with a baby buggy the size of an army tank being allowed in!!

No fresh fruit which I consider a serious crime and the coffee was watery and no option for hot milk.

I am sure I don't need to add that despite this being England there was no Marmite but of course I had brought my own, having learned from experience that its only the more enlightened establishments that have this famous spread as standard.

Overall though it was a pleasant stay, and good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agingrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed there on business and turned into the worst hotel experience I have ever had and this includes some b&b's i've stayed in.
The room was at best shocking - dirty and in dis-repair. The heating was on full (no independent room control) which resulted in the windows having to be fully opened and lying on top of the sheets which then allowed me to sample the noise from the bars directly outside the hotel right into the early hours of the morning resulting in little sleep.
Complained to reception who stated nothing could be done as they were full - complained again in the morning to be offered a less than acceptable discount or a free stay (why the hell I would want to go back there is beyond me) - complained at length and I mean at length only to be fobbed off and receiving many sarchastic emails from management.......
AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevind264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are looking a clean, comfortable place just to stay the night in Nottingham, look elsewhere. For its price it doesn't measure up to even a basic Travelodge room. I booked a standard double room but upon arrival realised that the room was old and quite dirty. The sheets did not feel clean and had an odd smell. The air-conditioning was also not working. On the night it was rather noisy as the room was overlooking the main road and the noise from people on the streets was clearly audible from the room. I was not bothered by noise but if you are then that would be a concern.

The only pro of this hotel would be the central location, but even then there are many other options in the city centre - save yourself the unpleasant experience of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dissection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#25 of 49 in Nottingham
1,836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 49 in Nottingham
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Property: The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing