We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negative reviews are definitely correct. Smoking Hotel from hell.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We booked out stay at the Britannia Nottingham as we were looking for a city centre hotel to attend an open day at the University which was reasonably priced and two nights available.

However, all the negative reviews about the hotel were correct if you were put on a lower floor, although, if you luck enough to be on a higher floor your experience might have been different. When we arrived, we definitely found the main receptionist and other main receptionists which followed very unwelcoming and uninterested in answering your questions. However, the other support staff did try to make the stay better. The first shock was the £10 per day parking charges. We hadn't anticipated this.

The main reception was fine and the bar clean but tired looking with repairs to the leather furniture. However, this is definitely not the big, big issue! We went to the 4th floor and first noticed that even at 3pm, the hallways were filthy, unvacuumed, with litter strewn around. This is a smoking hotel and as such, stinks of stale smoke almost everywhere. The smoking and non-smoking rooms are mixed together, so it smells regardless of which room you choose.

The room we were taken to was extremely small with just enough room to move your feet around between the chest and bed, but nothing else. The beds were very old, dirty and squeaked loudly when just sitting on them, making it impossible to sleep on. There was coffee spilled against the bed base, all over the carpet, the side table and in the drawers. How a cleaner could have missed this, I don't know.

I went to reception to ask to be moved to another room and a very nice young man did move us straight up to the 9th floor where it was a different picture altogether. The halls were clean, didn't smell, the room was larger, the beds newer and comfortable, and no smell of smoke as yet as the rooms around us were non-smoking. Having said that, there still some problems. The hotel caters for hen nights etc so we had a large group of loud guys slamming doors and being really loud until about 10pm on both nights. Although non-smoking, the smoke from smoking rooms was wafting it's way through the ventilation and into our bathroom so we had to keep our bathroom door shut. It is an old hotel, so the water pressure is negligible. although clean generally, there had obviously been some serious water damage behind the toilet, so the vinyl was badly damaged and gross looking. Something which could have been corrected.

This is our second stay at a Britania (we forgot about Stoke on Trent horrible experience!) and it was just as bad. There is not excuse for the above issues. It is not a 'budget hotel' and even so, budget is not synonymous with unclean, unfriendly, smelly, etc.

Breakfast was OK if you like cheap alternative products, like cardboard tasting cereal, juice, and very salty bacon, low quality sausages etc. However, there was plenty of it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FAMILY1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Ive been complaining since February, which is when we stayed for a special occasion. the mattress was mouldy with bodily fluids and had eaten away until it had exposed the stuffing. The bathroom was mouldy and the shower curtain infected with spores. Ive complained about 15 times to Lee the operations manager and Jan -- the General Manager with no fruition! I am being ignored now so im taking it higher. its been 6 months with no apology. They offered a night on a B&B basis, lesser value of what we initially booked but could not accommodate our chosen date. Not heard from them since after many more emails. The management attitude is worse than the room standards! DO NOT VISIT THIS HOTEL, no matter what the offer is. Even the leather sofa's in the bar are held together in Gaffer tape!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachaelhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We booked a champagne 2 night stay DBB for £160. The room was a deluxe, it was ok and clean. The dining room was very dated and not even 3*. The food was a buffet consisting of roast lamb a beef pie or fried fish the accomanying veg were grey looking mushy oeas large slices of leek and oven cooked chips or potatoes. Pudding was typical Makro style gateua. We exchanged our champagen for a red wine, had no choice in which one and we got a £7 Merlot. Only stayed one of our two nights.
Car park was £16.50 per night.
This hotel is ok for hen night parties who want central Nottingham and no food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suespinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here for a week while working next door.
Staff were NOT very helpful and messed us around regarding payment.
Hotel is showing it's age and while it is centrally located there are plenty of better ones around the same location.
The only reason we continued to stay was because of availability (the Hotel opposite and the Holiday Inn express were both full.
Park at a reduced rate but still have to pay.
Food was ok but there are plenty of options locally (town centre is a 2 minute walk from the Hotel).
Pub/Bar/Restaurant had no character and felt like a conference room rather than a place to eat, drink and relax.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Lack of Customer Services at Check In. Room badly maintained and this seemed to be the general overview of the whole hotel. unclean and in dire need of a reburbishment. Good sized room but it smelt very old and in desperate need of a clean and update. Carpets and furniture worn out and windows need cleaning.
Hotel is excellently located for central nottingham but that's the most postive comment I can think of!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsNotts, Manager at The Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Britannia Hotel Nottingham, from which I read your comments with interest and concern.
I am extremely sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay caused you disappointment
I offer you my most sincere apologies, on behalf of the Britannia Nottingham, for the annoyance and frustration you have been caused. All your comments have been noted and hopefully this will enable us to improve on the area where we have fallen short on this occasion.
We hope you will give us the opportunity in further to demonstrate the high level of service and good quality the Britannia Nottingham has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My daughter arranged her sisters hen party at this hotel. I went on to reviews and was horrified and frightened to come, worried for my daughters friend's obviously. There were 10 of us and please do not believe these horrible reviews, the hotel is a bit dated I agree, but our rooms were very clean, very comfy beds and clean also. The staff were lovely breakfast was fresh. Fruit, cereals, full english, assorted teas, fresh coffee. Lovely!
I have lived abroad, and travelled around the world and I can assure you there are a lot, lot worse hotels than this and a lot more expensive. We had a lovely hen party weekend and would definitely come again.
Very central for everything also.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Go up a couple of floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsNotts, Manager at The Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Thank you for your review on Britannia hotel Nottingham I am glad that you enjoyed your stay we do try and offer a great service to each and every one of our guests
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Don't be put off by most of the negative reviews for this hotel. We were a party of ten on a hen night and were very happy with every thing. The rooms were clean comfortable and well equipped, breakfast was brilliant and staff helpfull. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsNotts, Manager at The Britannia Nottingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Thank you for your review on Britannia hotel Nottingham I am glad that you enjoyed your stay we do try and offer a great service to each and every one of our guests
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,471 reviews
1.0 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $38 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing