We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Griffin at Plumtree - CLOSED

The Griffin at Plumtree
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
notts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We thought we would give the Griffin a try seeing as it was under new management (even though some of the reviews weren't great). We arrived at 7 and were seated at our table within 5 minutes. We ordered the Tapas, sat and enjoyed a drink and food arrived half an hour later. The food was delicious and well presented and very reasonably priced. Plenty of dishes to choose from. We will definitely return in the future and hope the new management make a success of it

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    13
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
“Slightly disappointing night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The night started badly when we arrived (on time) for our 8 pm table. I had specifically asked when I booked for a table in the conservatory but on arrival was told that it was full, apparently according to the member of staff, people were eating slowly but if we would like to wait in the bar, it shouldn't be too long. However, there was a table free in the main part and I'm glad that we took it, as if we had waited in the bar for a table in the conservatory to become free, we would have been legless by the time we sat down as nobody was leaving.

We felt we were being hurried to make our menu choice and I have to say, I feel that the choices were very limited if you were not having tapas. We had quite a long wait for the food to arrive and it was very disappointing. My husbands beef burger was a small ball of meat in a rather large bun, a pile of rocket and some skinny chips. My fish cakes were absolutely enormous and would have been better had they been half the size.

There was a complete lack of atmosphere and the food was just basic pub grub.

Don't think we'll be going back there in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just can't seem to get it right.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately for the griffin they just can't seem to get it right. It is currently a tapas bar, which is a bit out of place for its location and sadly the food is all battered and fatty which isn't really what tapas should be. I went before it was tapas and DIdnt have a great experience then either. A shame because it could do really well if it marketed itself correctly and turned back Into what it formerly was - a village pub.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I went here the other night and had the tapas. Really good tapas, food came quickly. Presentation good. Nice atmosphere. It's worth a visit despite the reviews.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachybNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for new management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had heard a few months ago the griffin was under new management again.
We visited early on a saturday evening. We were seated quickly. Food order was taken quickly, but took 40 mins to come to the table. Food was good, but not amazing.
After our table was cleared it was almost impossible to get a member of staffs attention to ask for the bill! We eneded up going to the bar and asking for it before leaving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin at Plumtree also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Kimberley, Nottingham
Gamston, Nottingham
 
East Bridgford, Nottingham
Car Colston, Nottingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing