We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be a guest of Robin Hood”

Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery
Ranked #11 of 129 things to do in Nottingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A magnificent 17th century ducal mansion built on the site of the original Medieval Castle. The Castle has a turbulent past, linked to kings and conquerors and still has a maze of original caves hidden beneath its imposing walls.Now the building houses a Museum & Art Gallery, offering visitors an opportunity to see the best regional, national and international art in the regularly changing exhibition galleries. Plus the permanent exhibitions showcase costume and textiles, silverware, glass and a glimpse into Nottingham's history.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Be a guest of Robin Hood”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This mansion is worth a visit for exhibitions and historical displays lovers. I loved it inside.
You will have a good city view from the “castle” and nice stroll weather permitting in the gardens, not to mention the chance to have a picture next to the heroic Robin Hood statue.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    554
    420
    175
    82
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just ok really, nothing too exciting,some exhibits were interesting, staff not really very friendly, but no major problems.Eating again just ok.

Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Gardens and views are lovely, very strange driving past all the big buildings in Nottingham to come across this place. Some of it was interesting some of it a little less so depends what u are into, i personally prefer the rustic true medieval feel to castles but here everything was in cabinets and no photography in parts its worth a visit but i wouldnt go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawlryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view, lovely fields”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I loved the view of the city from the castle. There were amazing green fields and flowers on the way to it. Robin Hood statue is located near that. I dont think there is a need for an entrance fee at all, especially that there is another fee if you want to go inside and see the musuem.

Search for the dates and times of tour of the Robin Hood caves before you go

There is a small distance of a steep road and some stairs to get there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaimaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, especially for school trips!! (I went on a school trip there.)”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My topic at school was Robin Hood and the tales of Nottingham and I went there with my school.(year 3) I learnt a lot of things there, however if it's for a school trip the public might get a bit annoyed. Because when I had a day off school receptions were shouting loud. But the museum is really fascinating, my favourite room was the room with real-life war-suits, guns,spears,medals and swords. So if you're planning to go to Nottingham castle you should go!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ltman2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing