We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A really Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel was a little difficult to find using our sat nav, probably because our sat nav is it’s a little out of date. We parked in the recommended local car park which is about a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. I would suggest that you find the car park first before checking in as parking is restricted around the hotel.

Arriving at the hotel, the member of staff on reception was polite and informative about the hotel and parking, very professional but impersonal. We took the lift to our hotel room on the second floor. The hotel and corridors were tastefully decorated, clean and well signed.

The room was very spacious with a large bathroom, ample space to move around and a decent view from the window. You had to step down into the bathroom which contained a wonderful large shower cubicle (no bath), rain shower head and the floor didn’t get wet when using the shower. There bathroom also contained a heated town rail (which kept the bathroom warm), various bathroom freebies and large shaving/cosmetic mirror.

The room we booked contained free tea/coffee making facilities along with a separate coffee making machine. There was also a large TV, desk, chair, laptop safe, ipod dock/clock radio and iron with ironing board.

I could find very little fault with the room as it was clean and well worth the money. The noise from the street was minimal, but I’m a heavy sleeper. The air conditioning unit was easy to operate but a little noisy and took some time to get used to.

When we used the room service facility, they were quick, polite and very accommodating. There was a gym on the ground floor that I didn't get a chance to try out, but will do on another occasion.

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    368
    164
    52
    47
See reviews for
90
423
59
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed her on sat 12th and sun 13th Jan 2013. The hotel has recently been referbished and was finished to a high standard. The location is perfect for shopping, nightlife and seeing a bit of historic Nottingham. There are plenty of good bars and restaurants within easy walkng distance and is about midway between the two shopping centres. The staff were friendly and helpful and the level of customer service was five star. The room was comfortable, well equiped and good quality. I cannot fault anything about this hotel. The only down side was no parking at the hotel. They do have an arrangement with the local NCP (Lace Market) at £11 for 24 hours but this is a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_SHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January for 2 nights and had a great stay.The room was not massive but big enough,clean and had everything a hotel room should have(tv,coffee facilities etc) hotel restaurant was very nice and not expensive. It's location is great for Bars,shopping and restaurants. Will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a child free weekend away in Nottingham in a privilege king room for two nights at the mercure and were pleasantly surprised at the hotels location and the proximity to the supplemented car parking. The room was large but quite basic considering that it is touted as a luxurious room. We slept very well the first night and suffered none of the previously reported noise disturbances. The second night however was a different story! After midnight another hotel guest was trying to get into our room, mistakenly/drunkenly under the impression it was theirs. Shortly after this disturbance there was more knocking on our door to ask if the collapsed person in the hallway belonged to us!!! We alerted the hotel reception at this point and more noise ensued!! We eventually managed to return to calm and some sleep at around 1.30-2am! The hotel receptionist on checkout asked if we had a pleasant stay to which we answered "Not really" !! We were told that the situation was dealt with quickly and that was the end of the conversation! Not great!!!!

Room Tip: Definitely email ahead for a top floor room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyGLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A very clean and modern hotel. The rooms are very spacious. The bed is big and very comfortable. You'll find typical 4* facilities such as ironing board, large TV, a desk, full of useful stationary. The hotel is very clean and offers good facilities such as a restaurant, bar and a gym. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Would certainly recommend, considering the unbeatable value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Mercure, very comfortable room, well equipped and nicely furnished. Greta service too.

Good location, right in the city centre and in easy reach of all of the city's attractions, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McAllisterandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing