We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and top location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We got a really good value room only deal via lastminute.com.

The Mercure Nottingham is very clean and is nicely decked out. The rooms have everything you need with top notch beds and bathrooms.

Above all, the hotel is right in the city centre, surrounded by good cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, its great to hear that you found us ideally located for all the cafes, bars and restaurants!

Glad that you enjoyed the room and our comfy beds, your comments mean a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is not a bad hotel, but its not great either. Firstly, if you are driving, your car will have to be parked at your expense in a grubby council car park about 100m from the hotel. The rooms are OK but if want to sleep with the window open, the party goers will keep you awake til the early hours and the garbage man will wake you up in the early hours, so there is not much in between. Breakfast is very well done and reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We’re sorry to hear that factors outside the hotel marred your stay with us.

The breakfast team were pleased to read your positive comments regarding their service and we would be pleased to look after you again on your next visit to Nottingham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Comfortable room, modern & very nicely presented, decent sized bathroom with full sized bath (good for a smallish double room), air con, good breakfast. I'd stay there again except only if I wasn't driving. The car park we were recommended on the hotel website wasn't easy to find - Nottingham city centre has TERRIBLE road signage (rather ironic as my partner was in the city for a road traffic conference). We ended up at Stoney Street car park (NCP), as Fletcher Gate (?) was displaying 'FULL' signs when we arrived and we missed the entrance for Fletcher Gate car park anyway, being fooled by the residents only entrance beyond the exit instead - it was still displaying 'FULL' when we walked past mid evening when it was clearly half empty. We told the car park attendant, who claimed the car park didn't have any such electronic sign displayed on the street. ??

Also, having to pay £16.50 for 24 hours parking jacked up the overall cost of the stay. So, I'd recommend this hotel if you're NOT driving - it is otherwise well placed for the city centre. It could be very difficult for a disabled driver, as I couldn't work out how you'd find any parking place closer than these car parks, as the hotel seems to be in a pedestrianised area. Watch out for the trams on your way to the car park too.

Room Tip: Even the smaller double was a decent sized room for a one night stay but perhaps not big enough if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank work_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Many thanks for posting your positive comments regarding your room and breakfast during your stay at our hotel. We’re just sorry that Nottingham’s infamous one way systems and parking signage caused you challenges on your way to find us!

The hotel has been here since 1822 - the roads have then been built around us as the city has grown. We recommend that guests follow the orange Parksmart signs to the Lace Market Zone and then the Fletcher Gate car park (NG1 1QE) Discounted parking is available there from £5 per 12 hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Revellers screaming from street can be heard through double glazing. Don't stay if you are on business. Horrible. Rooms are contemporary and pleasant. But what's the point staying in a hot you can't sleep in?

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyheadNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are sorry to read that you didn’t experience a sound nights sleep during your stay with us due to the revellers outside.

Our hotel is situated in central Nottingham, right in the heart of the Lace Market area which is vibrantly busy by day and night. Whilst we appreciate that we cannot eliminate the sounds of the city, we have invested in glazing measures to help reduce noise wherever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a great stay...didn't start off great though as got to hotel to be informed that check in is 3pm and not 2pm although we left our bags and had a wander around the city centre. This hotel has an excellent location literally a 2 min walk to bars, restaurants and shops, we paid a little extra and had a 'priviledge' room on the 5th floor, it was soooo quiet, really expected noise because of central location but not a peep, air con in room which was a god send as nothing worse than stuffy hotel rooms, huge tv and loads of goodies, nespresso machine in room was slightly pointless when coffee supplied and took up loads of room, iPod docking and charging station is a brilliant idea. We chose to eat breakfast in our room one morning and in the restaurant one morning, room service was lovely although quite small portions, self service breakfast on second day was good and Paul who served us was adorable and very polite (kept calling us madam which was lovely!) overall a fantastic stay well worth spending couple of extra pounds on the 5th floor rooms...enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us, Paul was especially pleased that he got a special mention in your review! Glad that you liked the aircon, iPod docking station and all the extra goodies in your Privilege room - we’d love to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel has a great location, and the service we received was fine. The room itself however was tiny. It wasn't clear that the room would be as small as it was. There was a double bed against a wall and no more than 2 feet to walk around one side and the bottom.

Due to the size of the room we couldn't comfortably get ready and there was literally no room to set up an ironing board (which was included in the room). Had I know this would be the room size I would have purchased a bigger room. The price seemed reasonable at first, but once I saw the room I felt I had been overcharged. I stay at AccorHotels all the time (Gold member) so this time I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csharma84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, its lovely to hear that you found us ideally located for your trip to Nottingham. As we are a quirky building with a range of bedroom sizes we really do try to be transparent about each bedroom category; making distinct pricing differences between our smaller rooms and larger rooms and by declaring the square meterage for each bedroom type on our websites. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room allocated to you during this stay but we would look forward to showing off some of our other bedrooms on your next visit to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here on a Monday night after a gig at the arena. Great location - within walking distance of the arena and plenty of bars and restaurants. There has been previous reviews about noise levels & rude staff but we experienced nothing like this. We stayed in a Premier Room which was great - bathroom was big with lots of goodies and the King sized bed was amazing. Don't let the other reviews put you off - this is a modern, clean hotel & there are plenty of different room sizes & rates to choose from. We didn't have breakfast there as there were plenty of little cafes on the same street where you can grab a bacon sarnie. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Room 223 was great - very large and at the end of the corridor so no noise from other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, its great to hear that you found us ideally located for the concert at the Arena! Glad that you enjoyed one of our larger upgraded rooms, your personal recommendation means a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: $65 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing