We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our recent stay in Nottingham. We originally picked the hotel as we got a great deal during an Accor sale, but we were not disappointed with our choice.

The hotel is well located, close to shops, restaurants and attractions. The staff were very helpful and polite, although we did have an issue with trying to sort out out our parking. The room we had was large, with a reasonable view of the street. It was clean with a coffee maker, iPod dock and an amazing shower (my husband has not stopped raving about it!).

The hotel itself is beautiful, and, despite it's central location, it is quiet. Parking is 2 minutes away at the Fletcher Gate car park at £10 a day. We had a bit of an issue when we checked in as we wanted a pass to use the car over the weekend. No one knew if we could do this, but it did get sorted in the end.

Overall, we loved our stay at this hotel, and would definitely book again. Our stay was made all the better by the personal touch of the staff as they left a card and cakes in our room for my husband's birthday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for writing such a detailed review, there's some lovely information in here about the hotel and surrounding attractions. Very pleased that your husband enjoyed his birthday treats from the team - and the amazing shower! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nottingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    384
    174
    53
    48
See reviews for
98
438
61
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a hotel that we booked very last minute to see the Download Festival as everywhere else was booked up. We had low expectations of this hotel as there were rooms left and were very cheap...........but we were amazingly suprised!! This was an excellent hotel with great facilities, right in the center of Nottingham and was exceptionally clean and weel refurbished

There is a small gym on site, a restaurant and bar. The rooms were exceptional with a TV, en-suite, air conditioning, docking station and free wi-fi. We could not ask for more!! The staff were brilliant from booking to leaving and accomodated all our needs with no hesitation

The only downside is that with this hotel been in the center of Nottingham, the noise from outside is loud at times - but the use of the air con assisted with this as the room stayed cool without the need to keep the window open. Without this air con I would have had no sleep at all - this is the reason why there is still 5/5 for the Sleep Quality as I could not fault the hotels efforts in assisting with noise pollution - thank you!!

If we ever travel again I will use Mercure where available, they are excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments, we love the review title! Very pleased to hear that you were amazingly surprised - now you've found us we trust you'll want to come back for Download 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Mercure. The room we were first allocated did not appeal to us as it was dark with a view of a wall and a noisy air con unit outside the window. Our request for a change was dealt with in a friendly and prompt manner. The hotel is housed in an old building and there seems to be great variance between rooms. Our second room at the front of the hotel was big and airy. Nottingham city center in common with all city centers is noisy at night so no open window or no sleep.
We found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with all we needed. Cooked items were replaced regularly and therefore freshly cooked.
All in all a good stay and we would stay again if in Nottingham.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front seem to be larger but can be noisy in view of the hotels location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjoe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All of our rooms are completely individual and we're pleased that you found a room that you enjoyed during your stay with us.
The team were pleased to read your comments regarding the quality of the staff service and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again on your next visit to Nottingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked for a festival in Nottingham and the hotel was lovely. Large bathroom, good sized bedroom, large very comfy bed, excellent breakfast with every choice and extremely helpful staff. Only two pointers was the room was very hot and there were no drink making facilities, but minor points really. Certainly book again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
What a lovely review title - thank you! A tray containing tea/coffee making facilities is tucked away in the wardrobe and our air-conditioning units can be controlled individually within each bedroom which should help in the summer months.
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post such nice comments about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my partner as we were in Nottingham to use a voucher for an archery lesson and had some tesco clubcard vouchers that we used in the hotel.

The staff were friendly and the building was beautiful. Felt like we might have been in the budget room due to using vouchers, as there was a rip in the headboard and it was quite dark due to having a view of a wall / air conditioning machinery. The room was comfortable though. Perfect location, right in the lace district so easily accessible to everything and only a ten minute walk from the station. Breakfast was good, a nice spread of cold items plus a choice of hot food. I preferred the serve yourself buffet on Sunday more than the seated service (for hit food) on Monday.

I would recommend this hotel if you have vouchers but would have been a little disappointed if I'd paid full price, just because the rooms are rather expensive if you're going to get bad views and shabby bits (ours would have been £208 full price for Sunday and Monday night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irkeninvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed comments from your stay. Being in the heart of Nottingham we do have a range of views from our bedrooms windows - including the 'interior view' as described. Apologies for the damage to the headboard in your room, we are currently awaiting a replacement board.
We're pleased that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the buffet breakfast. We look forwrad to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A nice modern hotel with very helpful & friendly staff. A great location for the city centre and despite it being next to a few pubs/clubs, which although noisey outside, we hardly heard anything during the evening. We were woken up early on Saturday morning by the bin men collecting the empty bottles though.

Although there's no parking onsite, there is one 3mins walk away which, if you get your ticket validated by hotel receiption, gives you 24hrs parking for £10.

When we booked, it stated that checkin was 2pm onwards, but we were later told it was 3pm (Accor website is out of date... it is 3pm). The helpful staff ran round freeing up a room for us before 3pm as we had a wedding to attend.

The hotel offers free wifi throughout which is handy to have. If we needed to stay in Nottingham again, we'd probably re-book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, there's some lovely information in your review which I'm sure will be helpful for lots of future visitors to Nottingham.
Its great to hear that you would re-book with us if you visited the city again, your recommendation is greatly appreciated by the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was really impressed by the location of this hotel, and thought it was very good value. It's close to the main shopping area, as well as a variety of restaurants, pubs and clubs.

The entrance was very small, and I imagine it could get a bit cosy if the hotel was particularly busy! Luckily for us, we checked in on a Friday morning and there was nobody else around. The staff on the front desk were polite and helpful, and check-in was quick.

The room was pleasant, a fairly decent size with a decent bathroom. The bedroom area was separately from the bathroom by a wall, which I liked. It was comfortable and the quality of the room was comparable to that I have seen in much more expensive hotels. There was a desk and a radio with an iPod dock, which I thought was a nice touch.

The bathroom was quite small, but had everything you need. I wouldn't attempt to get more than one person in there at a time though, which may result in a few arguments when you're getting ready!

Despite the great rooms, there were two things that happened at this hotel which we felt let them down. Firstly, we had booked a room included breakfast from the Expedia website, but when we went down in the morning to eat, we were told that the rate was room only. It was mistake of Expedia, who we booked through, but the attitude of the staff did make us feel a little bit awkward. I was adamant I had paid for a rate including breakfast, but wanted to make sure before I questioned it. I got the confirmation up on my phone, and it did specify that breakfast was included. Despite this, the staff member on the front desk said he would speak to Expedia and asked us to return to discuss the outcome. I can understand the hotel being cautious, it did make us feel a bit uncomfortable.

Secondly, the fire alarm went off at 6am. Again, I can't really blame the hotel for this, as it's a health and safety requirement, and I'd be writing a slightly more harsh review had there been a fire and the alarm hadn't gone off! It was just a bit unfortunate. We stood outside for about 45 minutes while they checked the alarm and sent us all back inside. Not ideal on a Saturday morning!

I don't hold the hotel responsible for this though (however, I would like to remind my fellow travellers that "no smoking" means exactly that, and having a crafty fag in the toilet does not mean you are exempt from the rule!), and I still enjoyed my stay.

Incidentally, the breakfast was nice and there was plenty of choice, even though we ate quite late (about 9:40am) and I would recommend eating there if you can get a good rate. If you buy breakfast separately, the cost is absolutely extortionate, and there are plenty of cheaper, alternative places nearby.

I would recommend this hotel if you are planning on visiting Nottingham city centre, but please make sure you have a copy of your confirmation if you don't book it directly through their website!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_ECD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Your patience whilst the team clarified your breakfast package and again during the fire evacuation was greatly appreciated (we love your reminder to your fellow travellers about non-smoking hotels!)
Your positive comments and personal recommendation mean a lot to us and we would look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Nottingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing