We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Nottingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We would like to start on the positives, the hotel is clean, contempory and the staff were all polite and helpful. We stayed on the 4th floor and my mother and sister in law stayed on the 5th floor. At around 8 pm we noticed there was loud music being played in the adjoining bars and people shouting in the streets. We waited until after 10 pm and called reception asking what time the music usually stops and were advised it should stop around 12. We waited until after half 12 and the constant base of the music was just as loud. We called reception and they moved us to the opposite side of the hotel. The music was less loud but the shouting of the people outside continued until past 2 am. My mother and sister in law also had the same problem. Also the walls of the hotel at paper thin and everything that was happening and being said in the room next door could be heard, it felt like they were in our room. The hotel needs to invest in better double glazing and sound proofing, we will not be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Panda7478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I am sorry to read that you didn’t experience a sound nights sleep during your stay with us.

Our hotel is situated in central Nottingham, right in the heart of the Lace Market area which is vibrantly busy by day and night. Most people choose to stay with us because of our fantastic location in the city centre - but with the beauty of having everything on your doorstep comes the downside that you can hear everything on your doorstep.

Our refurbishment included some fantastic triple glazing which was made specially to remain in keeping with our Georgian architecture. Whilst we appreciate that we cannot eliminate the sounds of the city, we have invested in these measures to help reduce noise wherever possible.

I am pleased to hear that you liked our contemporary styling and that you found the staff helpful during your time at the hotel. If we can’t influence what happens outside our building it is nice to know that we are getting it right on the inside, so greatly appreciated thank you.

Kind regards
Tamsin Jackson – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a pleasant stay - our room was quiet, the bed very comfortable and, as the hotel has been recently refurbished, the rooms are very clean and well-presented. However, our room was very small making it hard to navigate around the bed.

Overall, the room did not meet the usual Mercure standard. For example, we had very few complimentary toiletries, the bathroom had an extractor fan that would not switch off without cutting the power to the entire room, and there was a low-hanging lampshade that we kept hitting our heads on. That said, we got a good online rate (under £35 a night) which made it good value.

Stay here for the location, not necessarily the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here on 19th dec for one night as we went to see Friendly Fires at Rock City. Got an excellent deal with booking.com - old hotel but refurbished with a very contemporary style. Great location,good discount with Fletcher gate car park.would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southpawLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Newly refurbished hotel right in the city centre, which is very lively at night. The rooms are on the small side, and we only had a shower, no bath, but this was sufficient for our needs.It was clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were very good, friendly and helpful.The only down side was the ridiculous cost of drinks in the bar. Maybe in the west end of London you can charge over £7 for a vodka and coke, but not in Nottingham!! The town centre is all one way, and it is a nightmare trying to find your way round. The hotel has no parking, so use either Fletchers Gate or Trinity car parks, as they are £6 overnight, whereas others are £16.50.

Room Tip: Higher floors are not so affected by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaz1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

One night stay after attending a party in Nottingham City Centre. Location spot on just a few minutes walk to Market Square and the same to the Lace Market where I needed to be.
Room on the small side and could be a problem if staying longer, but very well presented and equipped. Hotel staff were excellent and as helpful as any premium hotels I have stayed in. I always expect noise when I stay in centre hotels, but not at this one as i requested a high floor quiet room. Overall for the price a very good experience and would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcorbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Arrived 2 hours early but this was not a problem - our room was ready and we had in fact been upgraded which was a pleasant surprise. The decor was beautiful and it is very obvious this hotel is very new. Breakfast was good and the staff were delightful. Yes the rooms are small and yes it is in party central but overall it was a very pleasant stay and I would absolutely recommend it and definitely stay again which I guess speaks volumes.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrettsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, much appreciated by the team here.

Personal recommendation does speak volumes and we're pleased to read that you would definately stay with us again.

Kind regards
Tamsin Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a newly renovated hotel in the Nottingham City Center. According to the placard in the lobby, the building was built in 1822. The renovation is very nicely done with a refreshing lack of consistency in terms of room decor and fittings. Some of the rooms are REALLY small and there are rooms, none of which I saw, that only have a window facing a narrow courtyard.
The Ibis down the street is cheaper, and belongs to the same chain, but the Mercure has much more comfortable beds and a few added touches that make it worth the extra money. Several people have mentioned the automatic lights in the bathrooms. I actually found this kind of amusing, rather than irritating. Including a small set of iPod speakers in the rooms is a nice touch that surely doesn't cost much, but makes a difference.
There are two big cons: 1) The hotel appears to be located right in the middle of the student party district. That means there is very loud partying every night of the week. There are no rooms located to completely avoid this, but obviously the lower floor rooms facing the main street are likely to get the most noise. 2) Although the staff were very friendly, they were disappointingly clueless at times. Example: I asked about a weekly rate for the Internet and was told there was no such thing and that 14 pounds per day was my only option (which is highway robbery IMHO). When I went to log on to the Internet on my computer, there was indeed a by-the-week option, which although still very expensive (49 pounds) still beats the daily rate. Why did no one in reception know about this?
I had the breakfast once and although it is reasonably nice, I didn't think it was worth the steep price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2011

Thank you for your comments, we’re pleased that you like the renovation, including our individual rooms and our entertaining bathroom lights.

We are right in the heart of Nottingham’s Lacemarket district, an area known for being trendy by day and vibrant by night. We chose to open our hotel here for its fantastic position – we also chose to invest a fortune on triple glazing during the refurbishment which we hope helps our guests sleep more soundly in such a central city location.

I’m pleased to let you know that wifi is now free for all guests. This new complimentary service has been well received by our guests and has the added bonus of being far simpler for our receptionists to communicate!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area
Kind regards
Tamsin Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: $63 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing