We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Mercure is a new hotel in a old building, right in the city centre. The occupancy rate looked low, judging by the number of people taking breakfast but the staff were enthusiastic. The room (203) was on the small side but very well designed and decorated. Minor quibbles were non-functioning light on bathroom mirror and the lack of a light in the entrance way. Inclusive of an excellent breakfast, our room was only £7 more than Premier Inn but streets ahead in quality. Nottingham is, shall we say, a vibrant city on a Friday night but we were undisturbed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnScott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope to see you again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Centre.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel nicely referbished and in a great position to access towns and restaurants etc... Staff friendly enough but hotel very quiet yet they appeared hassled especially at breakfast and unprepared. We paid for a priveledge room and after checking in I had to call to ask where the bath robes/ slippers / toiletries and water was (not essential but I could have saved £50 and had a cheaper room) I was told they had trouble with the supplier and we would not get the bath robes etc, this should have been told to me when I checked in. I was told that the water would be delived when they turned down the room, this never happened either. We had a room on the front of the hotel and the noise from the pubs and clubs and even traffic kept us awake until the small hours, better double glazing in such a new building would be expected.
The hotel could be lovely and may be once the staff have been there a little while longer.

Room Tip: Go to the new Brazillian restaurant Tropeiro it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope that you consider using our hotel again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Center.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Though we experienced initial problems at booking stage (online booking), the staff were helpfulness personified in assuring us our booking was confirmed at the offer price we required, in particular Emma & Jackie. All staff remained graceful under the pressure of akward customers and a busy reception area. The location is ideal being within walking distance of day and night life. An offer exists at Fletchergate car park for overnight parking. Both the hotel interior and exterior were clean, stylish and sympathetic to its and Nottingham's history. You must see the stairs to realise how well this hotel combines modern comfort with old-fashion character. The rooms themselves contain up-to-date amenities-warm efficient shower; person sensitive lighting; a safe; clock radio & tv; air con/heating; tea & coffee making facilities (+ biscuits) and fresh milk can be ordered at no extra cost. The negatives? The room lighting was a little gloomy for my personal taste; the toilet roll was slightly to akward to reach easily; we had no breakfast so are unable to comment on its quality. The class of this hotel; the quality of service offered by the staff and the price of our overnight stay will actively encourage me to find excuses to return to this charming establishment. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquelinemay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Winter_GM, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to be our first review posted in November! I have to say that it was a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our team (in particular Emma and Jackie)will be delighted to hear your feedback. We too are so proud of the hotel and what it has become following the extensive refurbishment works that have carried out over the last 18 months.

I trust we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Mercure Nottingham City Centre in the near future.

Kind Regards,




Barry Winter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

we stayed two nights here on a recent trip to England.
The hotel is brand new. The location is perfect as it is in
walking distance to all the restaurants/shops/nightclubs. It is
also in walking distance to Nottingham castle where we attended
a great beer festival.
We would stay here again And Nottingham is a great city!!!! a side note-
Parking is a bit tricky - around the corner. be sure to call the hotel if your driving into the
city for directions on parking.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Winter_GM, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes parking and one way systems in Nottingham can certainly be a challenge! We have two possible solutions for guests, the first being discounted parking at Fletcher Gate car park (NG1 1QE) and the second being a valet parking service where your car can be collected directly from the hotel entrance and securely parked overnight and even given a clean if needed! Guests parking at Fletcher Gate car park are encouraged to go directly to the car park before coming to the hotel, if you need help with luggage from the car park our team are more than happy to welcome you there.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards,




Barry Winter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The staff were brilliant! We were on a 200 mile trip for Help for Heroes and the staff were so helpful and even locked up all our bicycles for us in a room. They were so accomodating for all our varied needs after 60 long miles down from Sheffield. The hotel is lovely and clean, all staff are top notch and I will be returning when next in Nottingham.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Winter_GM, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to to share your experience on Tripadvisor, we were delighted to be able to help you take some well earned rest during your charity event.

See you again soon at Mercure Nottingham City Centre!

Kind Regards,



Barry Winter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dundee, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel, the oldest in Nottingham, has been refurbished to a very high standard. It's staff are obviously very enthusiastic about their "new" hotel, and this shone through when dealing with them.

I did book a single, but was given a Boutique Double. The room, yes, it is "boutique", but it's spotlessly clean, and very well apportioned. Flat Screen TV mounted on the wall, a very good shower, and a safe capable of taking a laptop, along with the usual tray of tea and coffee, are very welcome features.

Well done Mercure staff - enjoy *your* new hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Winter_GM, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, it's true that the team are so enthusiastic about working in such an iconic hotel in Nottingham which has been lovingly restored to it's former glory!

I am glad you enjoyed our boutique rooms, every room in the hotel is individually designed so we have rooms to match everyone's tastes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,



Barry Winter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night for a city break in Nottingham. The hotel has recently been renovated and whilst now very modern, has also maintained it's traditional character keeping the history of the building alive (Charles Dickens was known to have stayed here in his day!).
After a drink in the cosy, although quiet, bar in the hotel, we headed out for the evening. Hotel was a great location for a night out in Nottingham, on the doorstep of good bars and restaurants in the City Centre.
The rooms are modern and the beds extremely comfortable. After a great night out, the breakfast the next morning was also extremely welcome.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and could not have done more to make our stay pleasant and relaxing.
We parked in the local NCP – a tip: take you ticket to the hotel reception on check out and they will stamp it which gives you a 50% discount on parking!
Would definitly recommend this hotel for all those looking for a perfectly located hotel in the centre of Nottingham who like a modern and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Hotel Nottingham and writing a review.
We do hope to see you again next time you are visiting Nottingham City Centre.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: $65 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing