We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night at a professionally run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great night at a professionally run hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here on a 'Groupon' deal, just for one night. We had a very enjoyable stay as the room was warm, comfortable and clean - only gripe was the 'old fashioned' tv, but I gather these are due to be changed soon. Plenty of mirrors in the bedroom and quite good lighting. Bathroom not spectacuar, but fine (though a loo brush should be available). Lux shower/shampoo fixed in shower, but no other toiletries available, although I believe you can ask for them.
The hotel has a homely atmosphere and, although check in and check out were slow, the staff were all very friendly nd helpful. An evening meal was included in our 'deal' and the food was of a very good standard for this type of hotel. We had king prawn and coriander fish cakes with wasabi mayonnaise and salad, followed by well-cooked rump of lamb, served with a variety of accoutrements! We didn't have a desert, but they looked good.
Breakfast, too, was cooked well; there was plenty of variety at the buffet and tea and coffee came extremely promptly. Again, all the service was very efficient.
Our only real irritation was wifi. There was a cost in the room, so we came down to the lobby before dinner, to find 'free wifi' stopped at 7pm! Very disappointing.
Shame about this, but, otherwise would recommend the hotel - its in a slightly strange area, a bit out of town, on a big shopping complex, but near the marina. I would think this is very pleasant in summer, but on a wet February weekend, wasn't so good! You can walk into the city in about 15/20 minutes down the canal, depending on where you want to go to, though. However, after doing this and walking all around the shops, we got a taxi back as it seemed a long way, then. It cost about £5.
Generally, though a very well run hotel, with good staff, both in the hotel and kitchens.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear WendyA7

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    314
    131
    34
    10
See reviews for
113
208
27
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here as an alternative to driving into the city centre. I was greeted by a very friendly and efficient man on the reception who quickly ran throught he neccesary information regarding the hotel. The location for me was ideal as it was near a large supermarket as well as several eating places such as McDonalds and Pizza hut.
The room was very nice and i got a good nights sleep.
I never ate dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was good and the staff were attentive.
If you want somewhere quiet and comfortabl but not to far from either the motorway or the town centre I can stronly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear peter1561

I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the location ideal for your requirements.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel now 4 times..... as I am studying at Nottingham Trent University I have to come up from Cornwall for a couple of days....over the last 2 years we have found this hotel to be excellent - the staff are always polite helpful and efficient...as with most hotel chains they do not seem to have a high turnover of staff so we have got to know some of them and are always welcomed back. We could stay closer to the university but always stick to this one because of the clean rooms, the staff and it is more relaxing than a big busy hotel where nothing is too much trouble.....looking forward to returning in September!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kern0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Kern0w,

Can I thank you on behalf of the whole hotel for taking time out of your day to write your review. We find it very comforting and rewarding to receive such great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in September.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having stayed in the Holiday Inn express Derby and had a short break between which was not a good experience, it was a refreshing experience to arrive here. The staff were very helpful and friendly check in was easy and the hotel was clean.

The room was comfortable and prepared well.

It was a working weekend and the weekend football fans and party goers were of no bother at all.

Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful in allowing me in earlier to ensure I made it to work on time

I used the hotel restaurant which was good food and contentious staff that made you welcome and not feel out of place on your own.

Very pleasant indeed

Room Tip: Bar prices are a little higher than you would pay at a local pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobH567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Rob H,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased you have had an enjoyable stay with us, I have passed your comments on to all of the relevant departments. We are currently looking at our bar prices as we try to be as competitive as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Staff friendly helpful polite, stayed in lots of hotels and don't normally write reviews, but was expecting the norm for a standard priced hotel and was surprised at the level of detail and quality feel when arrived, from start to finish a great experience, the only down side is very expensive cider" but nice:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyota123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Toyota123456,

Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all of the staff. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel but it will not be my last. The staff were exceptionally helpful and could not do enough and I love the little "drawing rooms" off reception, nice and quiet if you want a short meeting over coffee. The rooms were nice and clean and comfortable and I slept really well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKA_Wiccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AKA_Wiccan

Thank you for your review. It’s always very rewarding to receive positive feedback regarding our staff. I fully agree that the ‘drawing room’ space just off reception makes a perfect location for a small informal meeting, we also have three purpose built conference rooms available complete with AV, air-conditioning and event stationery should you ever require a private space. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

like this hotel had to stay there for 2 weeks - not weekends - nice and clean rooms - nice food - breakfast was excellent - bar nice and friendly -down side had to pay for wifi - plenty of free parking - there is a mcdonaldsnext door and a retailpark 5 mins walk away - its a 15 min walk into the city centre

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Rob R,

Thank you for your recent review. It’s reassuring to receive such positive comments. Following your feedback we have now installed 24/7 complimentary WiFi access in our reception/bar areas. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,264 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing